Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Step 11 – Prayer, Mantras and Affirmations

prayingI have talked about prayer a lot in these posts because I believe it has played a significant role in the beginnings of my recovery. I have used prayer to address my physical symptoms, release anger and fear and keep my spirits soaring.

I believe very strongly in the power of prayer! Not because I’m religious (because I’m not). Rather, because I believe there is a higher source of wisdom at the helm of the flow of life and this wisdom wants to help us on our journey. So it behooves us to tap into it!

The idea to use prayer as a way to heal came to me in 2000 while I was training to run a marathon.  Perhaps the inspiration of a mind trying to keep from being bored during long weekend runs.  More likely though, simple divine guidance! You see, I had learned how to do emotional release healing through One Brain Therapy, but I had found it to be a slow process and fairly traumatic on those I had been counseling. So I had been thinking about a more efficient technique and while I was running the technique came to me, intuited as a prayer. I started using it and got great healing results. A few years later, after watching the movie, The Secret, I began using prayer to manifest things I wanted and so began my use of prayer as a way of improving my life!

I have three types of prayers:

  • Healing
  • Manifesting
  • Protection from dark energies

I say all prayers as if I’ve already received what I am praying for, in other words, as a way of expressing gratitude. I do this by beginning each prayer with, “Thank you God I Am for bringing me …” I got this idea from the book Conversations With God I by Neale Donald Walsch. By stating it this way I’m thanking the universe for what I want, so the universe obliges. Also, by saying ‘God I Am,’ I am acknowledging my oneness with God and the universe.

Healing prayer:

“Thank you God I am for neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my heart, my body and my being, all of the fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy that is at the root of whatever I am experiencing (for example, the symptoms of Parkinson’s, such as, trembling, loss of mobility and or loss of balance), and I thank you God I Am for this healing and I thank you for increasing the effectiveness of this healing by 100 times or more.”

Manifesting prayer:

The prayer I use to manifest the people or things I need to assist me in the recovery process goes like this: “Thank you God I Am for bringing me whatever it is that I need to recover from Parkinson’s.” For example, I might say, “Thank you God I Am for bringing me the information I need to understand why I don’t experience any trembling while I’m sleeping.”

I have learned that when I do not receive what I’m praying for it is either because I am not ready for it yet, or I have a faulty belief that is blocking me from receiving it, or it is simply not meant to be.  The challenge can be understanding the reason why I am not manifesting what I’m praying to manifest. Usually, it is a faulty belief.

Dark energy protection prayer:

I started praying for protection from dark energies in 2012 after listening to a podcast on dark energies by Caroline Myss. Myss, a noted spiritual teacher and author of Sacred Contracts, claims that dark energies exist and that they interfere with our lives and potentially our healing efforts. After listening to the podcast, I created my own prayer and since then things in my life have improved immensely.

The dark energy prayer I use goes like this:

“Thank you God I Am for immersing me in love and light. Thank you for the light that shines on me filling me up with divine goodness and compassion, forgiveness and gratitude, understanding and abundance. Thank you for hovering over me and protecting me. Thank you for hovering over my home and protecting my home. Thank you for helping me to release fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy and for returning my body to homeostasis. Thank you for the light that shines on me filling me up with happiness, kindness, courage, confidence and self love. Thank you! Namaste!”

I also give thanks to God for protecting other people and things, such as my children, my girlfriend and her family, my dad and my brothers and their families, my vehicle and my martial arts club. Even this blog.

Psalm 23:

I do use one biblical prayer, Psalm 23. I say it a lot. Actually, I use a modified spiritual version that I created. I use it when I’m having difficulty falling asleep and when I want to lift my spirits.

” The Lord is my shepherd I shall not want.  God makes me lie down in green pastures and leads me beside still waters.  God restores my soul and leads me down paths of spiritual transformation.  God helps me to feel good about myself.  Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I shall fear no evil, for thou art with me.  Your love and compassion comfort me.  You prepare a table for me in the presence of those who trigger me.  You anoint my head with oil.  I live in enormous abundance.  Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the rest of my days.  And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.  Amen.”

Mantras and Affirmations:

Our thoughts create our reality.  Therefore, it stands to reason that positive thoughts will create a positive reality.  Affirmations are positive thoughts or positive statements that are meant to help us bring positive change into our lives.  A mantra [a Sanskrit word] by definition is a sacred utterance [positive statement], used primarily during meditation. Simply put, a mantra is an affirmation that is repeated over and over. The intention of mantras and affirmations is to act as a trigger to stimulate an energetic shift with respect to our health, relationships, finances or career. In this respect, their intention is similar to praying, except we’re not directly asking for God’s help.

I use affirmations/mantras for encouragement, particularly in those moments when I’m struggling, to keep me in a positive frame of mind and to bring more loving energy into my life. Here are some examples:

  1. I’m doing my best and that means I’m doing great.
  2. I’m filled with love and happiness.
  3. I am recovering. My body is healing. My body is healthy and strong.
  4. Positive thoughts Fred!
  5. I love going for morning walks. I love teaching karate. I love swimming. I love etc.
  6. The power of God lies within me.
  7. Love is happiness and happiness is love. Love is kindness and kindness is love. Love is forgiveness and forgiveness is love.  Love is gratitude and gratitude is love. Etc.

If an affirmation isn’t giving you your desired results, it is likely that there is an unconscious belief sabotaging your efforts [likely the unconscious belief or thought that is creating the undesired reality you are trying to change].  If this is the case, you will need to identify and let go of the belief.  I use my healing prayer to accomplish this.  Meditation is also very effective. Rest assured, the universe wants for you what it is in your highest good.  God has your back.  You just have to clear your own ‘unconscious’ resistance to what you want.

Prayer, mantras and affirmations connect us with divine creativity and healing potential of the universe. They can enrich your life and they can help you heal.

6 comments on “Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Step 11 – Prayer, Mantras and Affirmations

Leave a Reply

