Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Step 9 – Bodywork

bodyworkEarly in 1993, I was midway through my karate training on my way to earning a black belt. As much as I loved the training, my body was a mess. Every one of my joints was in pain and a back injury I sustained in 1986 doing yard work had flared up on me. I had reached the point where I had to do something or I was going to have to put my training on hold.

That’s when my brother referred me to Jan, a gifted massage therapist with a gift of gab and fascinating metaphysical  abilities. I saw Jan for 13 years and credit her in large part with helping me to achieve my Black Belt, run a marathon and initiate my spiritual awakening. Indeed, I enjoyed our conversations about spirituality and the truths of life as much as I did the massage.

In 2008, I was diagnosed with Parkinson’s and by April of 2010 I was experiencing constant trembling in my left arm and hand and my right wrist had just started trembling. A friend referred me to Elizan, a brilliant Body Stress Relief therapist originally from South Africa where the therapy was developed.

BSR involves using pressure points in various patterns along the spine in order to relieve muscle tension so that the skeletal system can return to normal and nerve impulses can flow properly. It’s an awesome therapy. Within six months of seeing Elizan the trembling I was experiencing had diminished by about 75% and that’s where it remains today.

Bodywork is essential for healing. It accomplishes three things:

  • Releases stress
  • Corrects damage to the skeletal system
  • Helps release unresolved emotional energy from cell tissue

In addition to reducing trembling, BSR has helped relieve tension in my back, pain in my shoulders and tightness in my throat.  I don’t know where I would be without it.

Massage therapy and BSR have played an important role in my life, but there are several other very effective forms of bodywork including:

  • Chiropractic
  • Reiki
  • Bowen therapy [used by John Coleman to overcome Parkinson’s]
  • Osteopathy
  • Craniosacral therapy
  • Reflexology

If you’re not currently doing bodywork, I suggest you start as soon as possible. You might have to try two or three different therapies in order to find the therapy and therapist that works best for you.

4 comments on “Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Step 9 – Bodywork

  1. You are amazing Fred, you help so many people with this blog, you should put it all together in a book so even more people can access your knowledge and experiences. You researched so much and tried it yourself and know what works. Wishing you an awesome day !

    • Thank you for your kind words Ute! I am definitely thinking about a book, but will wait until I’m fully recovered. In the meantime, hopefully this blog helps.

      Thank you so much for your wonderful support! It means a lot to me!

      Many blessings,
      Fred

Leave a Reply

