Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Why I Chose to Heal Myself Naturally

pillsThe moment I found out I had a neurotransmitter imbalance [actually, I was told I had Parkinson’s] I made the decision to heal myself naturally. Initially, I was confident I could heal myself simply by addressing the underlying emotional root cause. Why not, I healed migraine headaches that were afflicting me at a rate of three to four times a week with this strategy. I have since learned that this is not enough. Fixing the physical body by returning it to homeostasis is also an important part of the process with neurotransmitter imbalances.

There are several reasons why I decided to take a natural approach. First, the only solution allopathic medicine offers involves medication and I am fundamentally opposed to using medication to treat chronic health conditions. Medications only suppress symptoms, they don’t heal. They also come with side effects and Parkinson’s medications can have nasty side effects, including anxiety, depression and hallucinations. [I still shudder every time I think about a drug I’ve seen advertised on TV that suppresses your craving to smoke, but can cause you to have suicidal thoughts.]

Medications are also very toxic to the body. They acidify the body, which is the exact opposite of what the body needs to stay healthy. It needs to be alkaline. What is more, Parkinson’s medications don’t slow the progression of the condition and their efficacy diminishes over time. They’re just not for me.

I have family and friends who live on medication because they have bought in to the western allopathic medical philosophy. A few years ago, my father had knee replacement surgery and when he came home from the hospital, he had prescriptions for 11 different medications. I was shocked!

The second reason I chose to do this naturally is because I believe that any condition can be healed once the underlying emotional root cause has been healed, toxicity and nutritional deficiencies have been addressed and structural damage has been corrected. I have healed many acute and chronic conditions over the years and I felt confident that I could heal myself again [I still do] and in fact, I have already started to recover.

The third reason I chose the natural approach is because I believe the body is capable of healing itself. If we give the body and spirit what it needs … pure, fresh oxygen, water & food, plus, sunshine, exercise and rest … and free it from stress, it will return to homeostasis, and thus heal itself and stay healthy.

The next reason I chose to heal myself naturally is because I feel it is important to know exactly what’s going on with my body. When I try something new [a change in diet, a new exercise, a new healing technique], I want to know how it affects my body and how it affects the symptoms I’m experiencing. For example, I wanted to know how bouncing a ball while walking would affect my ability to walk without shuffling. Similarly, I wanted to know how a fruitarian diet versus a ketogenic diet would affect me. I would not have learned what I did if I had been taking medication.

The final reason I chose to do this naturally is because I wanted to be in charge of my healing. By taking medication, I would’ve been putting my neurologist in charge and I didn’t want to do that. That would have left me feeling vulnerable and powerless, and I believe, that when it comes to healing yourself, you need to feel empowered.

So it comes down to a choice, allopathic (pills) or natural (diet and lifestyle). I have resolved myself that will not take pills no matter what the future holds. For me, personally, giving in to medication and the allopathic approach would signify that I have given up, that the ‘disease’ has won, and I’m not going to do that. Besides, nowhere does it say that the cause of any disease is a lack of prescription medication. If it’s not part of the cause, it can’t be part of the solution and I want to heal this condition, not simply manage the symptoms.

I think humanity is on the precipice. We either change the way we live or we risk extinction. We simply cannot continue to live the way we are and expect life to go on. We cannot continue to toxify ourselves and expect to fix it with a pill. For me, the choice was easy!

A final word on medications: I think for the vast majority of people who are experiencing this condition, there is no need to take medication.  If you take action immediately, detoxify yourself, eat healthy foods, exercise, address the underlying emotional root cause [including releasing fear], do whatever you can to eliminate stress in your life and practice the modalities and techniques that will give you relief from your symptoms [like Body Stress Relief and grounding], you can live quite comfortably without taking medication, and thus, not have to deal with their side effects.

I wish you Godspeed on your healing journey!

4 comments on “Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Why I Chose to Heal Myself Naturally

  1. “nowhere does it say that the cause of any disease is a lack of prescription medication” LOL. So true. Love it and your sense of humor. 🙂
    On a serious note, the empowerment we get from healing ourselves goes a long toward healing the world. Peace & Love

Leave a Reply

