Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Step 5 – Releasing Unresolved Emotional Pain

letting go“In the process of letting go you will lose many things from the past, but you will find yourself.” – Deepak Chopra

Early in 1993, I was experiencing three to four migraine headaches a week. I was also experiencing food sensitivities to the point where I could only eat steamed chicken and fish, brown rice and vegetables. Every joint in my body was a mess. It seemed like every injury I experienced growing up playing hockey and baseball came back on me. So my brother referred me to a massage therapist and thus began a fascinating journey of healing that continues today.

Jan, the massage therapist, referred me to another therapist [Lynn] whom I went to see without really knowing what she did. I was so fascinated with my first appointment with her  that I could hardly wait to get back for my second. Lynn practiced One Brain Therapy. OBT involves identifying an issue [through muscle testing] that caused unresolved emotional pain, revisiting the experience through age regression meditation and releasing those emotions through visualization.

The concept of healing emotional pain and the process Lynn used made me feel like a kid in a candy store.  I couldn’t get enough of it!

I saw Lynn for a year and a half and was so impressed with the therapy and the positive results we achieved that I took a workshop with her and learned how to do it myself. Over the next several years I practiced a lot on myself and others and eventually intuited my own technique which I have been practicing ever since.

In my experience, unresolved emotional pain [grief, guilt, shame, bitterness, hatred, despair, etc] is the source of much of our suffering. It, along with fear and anger, is at the root of all disease and must be released in order for healing to take place.

The technique I intuited is a healing prayer. I described it in the last post on releasing anger and fear. It goes like this:

” Thank you God I Am for neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my body and my being, all of the fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy that is at the root of [whatever issue I’m experiencing … for example, a headache] and I thank you God for this healing and I thank you for increasing the effectiveness of this healing by 100 times or more.”

I used this prayer to overcome the headaches, as well as cold sores and many other health conditions.

After being diagnosed with Parkinson’s in 2008, I thought I could heal myself, just like I healed all my other health conditions, simply using my healing prayer.  I have since discovered that there are other essential components to healing in addition to letting go of unresolved emotional pain:

  1. Detoxification
  2. Providing proper nutrition (healthy food, pure water and air … you will never get healthy eating McDonald’s)
  3. Healing structural damage (chiropractic, massage therapy, reiki, Body Stress Relief, etc)
  4. Reducing stress (meditation, change jobs, live in the present moment)
  5. Letting go of fear and victimhood

So I have expanded my healing protocol while continuing to emphasize healing and releasing unresolved emotional pain.

We have all had unpleasant experiences … somebody did something inappropriate to us, we did something inappropriate, we experienced loss, we witnessed tragedy … we judged the experience (because that’s what we were taught to do), we felt emotional pain (very natural) and we held on to this pain (because we were never taught how to constructively express our feelings, and quite often, we were actually punished for doing it … “You cry and I’ll give you something to cry about!”). With each unresolved experience, we accumulated more bitterness, hatred, guilt, shame, grief and anger! This created stress which (especially when combined with a poor diet, day-to-day chronic stress and trauma to the body) messed up our body chemistry. It acidified our body, destroyed our gut health, created inflammation, clogged up our lymphatic system and weakened our immune system, eventually leading to a “dis-ease” (like Parkinson’s).

Releasing unresolved emotional pain then is essential to recovering our health by returning the body to homeostasis.

An effective way to expedite the emotional healing process is to practice forgiveness.  Forgiveness is liberation from suffering.  One can practice forgiveness by saying, ” This is what you did.  This is how it made me feel.  But I don’t want to feel this way, so I choose to forgive you.” Or you can expedite the process by understanding the following principles:

  1. Everyone, including you, is doing the best they can with what they’ve learned. If a person grows up experiencing violence and hatred, this is what they’re going to give back to the world.
  2. People behave inappropriately because they don’t feel good about themselves. They feel unlovable, unworthy, inadequate and powerless.
  3. People behave inappropriately because they are unconscious. They are unaware of the truths of our existence and our oneness with God and all it is.
  4. All experience, good and bad, appropriate and inappropriate, is part of the flow of life, and what is important, is not what happens, but rather, how we react to it.

When you are aware of these principles, the need for forgiveness is replaced by understanding.  Forgiveness is not necessary because you understand why someone behaved the way they did or why you did what you did when you were younger.  This understanding helps transform and release emotional pain because when you are aware of what is at the root of someone’s inappropriate behavior you’re less likely to hold onto it.

Eckhart Tolle, author of A New Earth, refers to unresolved emotional pain as the pain body. He likens it to an energy, and like any energy, it wants to grow. Tolle advocates living in the present moment as a way to dissolve the pain body and let go of the unresolved emotional pain.

Whether you choose to live in the present moment, use my healing prayer, practice Emotional Freedom Technique or seek out a qualified therapist, make healing unresolved emotional pain a priority in your healing program.

Leave a Reply

