Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Step 4 – Releasing Anger and Fear

self love

“The only thing we have to fear is…fear itself.” — Franklin D. Roosevelt

My journey with Parkinson’s took a dramatic turn on March 27 of this year and hit rock bottom on April 4, when I started experiencing panic attacks. That’s when I discovered that fear is at the root of PD. If you’d like, you can read more about this in an earlier blog I wrote.

Prior to March 27, I had spent two and a half years healing anger thinking it was at the root of Parkinson’s. After all, Deepak Chopra says that anger is an inflammatory emotion and Parkinson’s is an inflammatory condition. So healing anger made sense to me. Little did I know that healing anger was only meant to get me to what was underneath it … fear!

Anger and fear are part of our innate fight, flight, freeze or collapse response to a perceived threat. They are necessary for our survival and in that respect, they are a good thing. But they also create stress and they become detrimental to our health when we fail to release them and when we live in a constant state of anger and fear. In other words, when we live in a state of constant stress.

Robert Rodgers, author of Road to Recovery from Parkinson’s Disease, agrees that chronic fear-induced stress is at the root of PD. Rodgers says stress causes the body to produce an over abundance of the stress hormones [adrenaline, cortisol, aldosterone and testosterone] that are naturally secreted when it is in survival mode. All kinds of things happen within the body when it is overrun with stress hormones, but the most damaging [as it relates to Parkinson’s] is that the parts of the brain that produce dopamine, serotonin, melatonin and other calming neurotransmitters shut down and eventually lose their ability to produce them.

The key to recovering is to eliminate stress as much as possible and stimulate the brain to produce the calming neurotransmitters. The good news is that both are possible. Here is what I am doing to accomplish this:

  1. Release anger and fear
  2. Fill my life with love, happiness and laughter
  3. Live in the present moment

Releasing fear and anger:

There are a number of ways you can go about releasing anger and fear:

  • Counseling
  • Emotional freedom technique [EFT]
  • Screaming into a pillow [works well for anger]

Counseling is a very effective way to identify and talk about the experiences that have caused you to hold onto anger and fear, but it’s important to find the right counselor; one who has experience in emotional release.  EFT is also a very effective modality that you can learn yourself.  It’s very simple and there are lots of good videos on Youtube explaining how to do it.

My primary technique is a healing prayer I intuited many years ago. I will explain the background on how I created this technique in the next post, but essentially it is a prayer that asks for God’s help:

” Thank you God I Am for neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my body and my being, all of the fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy at the root of the symptoms related to Parkinson’s that I’m experiencing, and I thank you God for this healing and I thank you God for increasing the effectiveness of this healing by 100 times or more.”

I use this healing prayer whenever I’m experiencing a specific symptom, such as trembling or tension or anxiety, etc, [just change the words highlighted in bold above] or when I receive an insight about a past experience that is at the root of me developing Parkinson’s. For example, being bullied in childhood.

I also use the healing prayer to address my overall health by putting a positive spin on it:

” Thank you God I Am for neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my body and my being, all of the fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy that needs to be released in order for my body to achieve homeostasis, and I thank you God for this healing and I thank you God for increasing the effectiveness of this healing by 100 times or more.”

When I was focusing on releasing anger, whenever something happened that triggered anger I would literally stick my face in a pillow and scream until I felt better.  This is a very effective technique that was taught to me by a shaman. I haven’t figured out a similar technique for releasing fear, but I’m working on it.

In the meantime, in addition to my healing prayer, I also use self talk.  Here is an example of what I might say:

“Hello fear. You are welcome to come up and leave my body. I’m not afraid of you. I’m not scared. You can’t hurt me. In fact, you’re not even real. You are a product of my thoughts. A figment of my imagination. Mostly the thoughts and imagination I had as a child when I didn’t know better and didn’t know the truth. That fear isn’t real. At least, not the fear I’ve been holding on to. So, begone fear.”

This is a very effective way to transform fear …  to take the fear out of the fear …  because the truth is, fear isn’t real.  At least, not the fear we hold onto.  Rather, it is a product of our thoughts.  Mostly thoughts resulting from false assumptions based on experiences we’ve had or things that we were told.  So in a sense, the fear isn’t real.  It just feels like it’s real.  So talking to it is a great way to neutralize it.

A good way to expedite the process of releasing fear is to identify the primary fear [belief] that is at the root of your health condition and self destructive behaviours. Fearreleasingmethod.com lists seven primary fears to which I have added seven more fears:

  • the fear of being unloved
  • the fear of being unlovable [not capable of being loved]
  • the fear of being unwanted
  • the fear of being unaccepted
  • the fear of being unworthy
  • the fear of being powerless
  • the fear of inadequacy (not being good enough)
  • the fear of losing control (feeling flawed)
  • the fear of being worthless (not being valued)
  • the fear of change (not being prepared for change)
  • the fear of lack or want (not having enough)
  • the fear of vulnerability (being judged, criticized or ridiculed)
  • the fear of missing out (the sense that the grass is always greener in some other place or some other time)
  • the fear of death
  • the fear of being helpless
  • the fear of being a victim [living in victimhood]

Review the list and determine which fear most resonates with you [for me, it is the fears  of being helpless and a victim … I feel like a helpless victim], then use my healing prayer to begin releasing it. Give it time, but I’m sure you will begin to notice a difference in your life and your symptoms.

Filling my life with love, happiness and laughter:

I do a number of things every day to bring more love, happiness and laughter into my life in order to stimulate my brain produce the calming neurotransmitters that will help return my body to homeostasis. Laughter in particular produces powerful healing endorphins:

  1. Write these blogs
  2. Teach karate
  3. Go for morning walks
  4. Watch funny TV shows [particularly Modern Family and The Beverly Hillbillies]
  5. Repeat positive affirmations
  6. Practice special techniques I’ve created, such as, standing with my hands at my side, fists clenched, then throw my arms up in the air as quickly as I can, open my hands and spread my fingers, yelling “YAHOO!” then returning my hands to my side. Keep repeating it.

Positive affirmations have the ability to create new neural pathways in your brain that can literally transform your experience by bypassing habitual negative thought patterns. I use several different positive affirmations:

  • I’m filled with love and happiness
  • Love is happiness and happiness is love. Love is kindness and kindness is love. Love is peace and peace is love. [repeat for anything that represents love. For example, trust, hope, faith, integrity, etc.]
  • I list all the things I love to do [I love going for morning walks. I love teaching karate. I love playing guitar.]

I also use my healing prayer to release any fear, anger or unresolved emotional pain that might be blocking me from experiencing self-love: ” Thank you God I Am for neutralizing the energetic frequency, healing and releasing from my body and my being, all of the fear, anger and unresolved emotional energy that needs to be released in order for me to experience extraordinary self-love, and I thank you God for this healing and I thank you God for increasing the effectiveness of this healing by 100 times or more.”

Living in the Present Moment:

Eckhart Tolle, author of The Power of Now and A New Earth, says living in the present moment dissolves fear and anger. I can tell you from personal experience that this true … at least temporarily. When you are living in the present moment, you are not worrying [feeling fear] about the future or fretting [feeling angry] about the past. There are four things I do to practice living in the present moment:

  1. Focus on my breath
  2. Focus my attention completely on what I’m doing
  3. Look around at things and observe
  4. Look up in the air

The first time I consciously practiced bringing my mind into the present moment I felt complete euphoria. I was out on my morning walk and the trees appeared to be in 3D, colours were more vibrant and the sounds of the birds was more evident. It was awesome and I’m sure, produced lots of calming neurotransmitters!

Living in the present moment has the potential to minimize my symptoms and contribute to my full recovery, but it requires constant diligence because I constantly find my mind wandering.  Either way, living in the present moment, even temporarily, is a great feeling!

So too is the experience of living without fear and anger. Not only are they at the root of Parkinson’s and many other forms of disease, they are also at the root of our unhappiness and obsessive behavior, so releasing them heals our bodies and frees us to live in peace, love and joy, and I can’t imagine a better feeling!

Since learning about the role fear plays in the development of Parkinson’s, the panic attacks have stopped and there has been a noticeable improvement in my symptoms. I am ecstatic that my recovery has begun.

In the next post, we will examine releasing unresolved emotional pain.

2 comments on “Recovering from Parkinson’s Disease: Step 4 – Releasing Anger and Fear

Leave a Reply

