My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 83 … I am Recovering!

estoniaI am pleased to tell you that I have started to recover from PD. A few weeks ago while driving home after karate, I realized I was driving better [straighter], and when I thought about it, I also realized that my symptoms had not progressed in the last couple of months. In fact, in some cases, they had actually improved. The trembling I had been experiencing was less noticeable, my voice was stronger and there was less tightness in my throat. I was also moving better and blowing my nose better [I’ll save you the gory details on this one].

I was ecstatic and in that moment I felt quite emotional. This is been a long, sometimes rough journey, particularly the previous six months during which I hit rock bottom, and it felt like I could finally take a breath.

I have been monitoring things quite closely [sometimes, too closely] since this realization just to ensure that I wasn’t imagining things and I’m pleased to say that the improvement in the symptoms I’m experiencing is real.

I attribute the beginnings of my recovery to several things:

  • The unwavering belief that I would in fact recover.
  • Mari’s amazing love and support and belief that I would recover.
  • The love and support of my children who make me proud every day.
  • Eating healthy foods and in particular, switching to a Ketogenic diet [thanks to Mari’s persistence].
  • Understanding the role of fear in the development of PD symptoms and starting to release this fear.
  • Adopting a new perspective [one that says, ‘I don’t have an degenerative disease. Rather, my body is simply out of balance’].
  • Exercise [particularly as it relates to muscle memory].
  • Body Stress Relief [BSR].
  • My decision to do this naturally [it allowed me to closely monitor what was going on with my body as I tried new things].
  • Blogging about my experience and believing that I was helping others.
  • Teaching karate [interacting with children helps keep me young and in the right frame of mind].
  • Learning about people who had also recovered, like Howard Shifke and John Coleman.  It proved to me that it was possible for me to recover as well.

I know I have more recovering to do [the fear that keeps coming at me is evidence of that], but now I live each day in total confidence that I will fully recover and in those moments when I’m struck by dark thoughts, I remind myself that it is simply fear and that neither the fear nor the thoughts are real.

If you have not yet done so, I urge you to read Road to Recovery from Parkinson’s Disease by Robert Rodgers and Stop Parkin’ and Start Livin’ by John Coleman ND.

I will soon be posting a series of blogs that I believe are the key steps to recovering from PD. It will be a consolidation of the 80+ posts I have written to make it easier for everyone to get to the key information you need to mount your own recovery.

In the meantime, I will be taking a two week vacation to Finland and Estonia [Mari’s home country] to enjoy the cuisine, the sites and Mari’s family.

Have an awesomely recovering day!

18 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 83 … I am Recovering!

  1. Congratulations Fred! You have so much inner strength!

    I hope you and Mari have a wonderful trip filled with tons of memories that you will cherish forever.

    Let us know about the different foods you will eat while visiting Finland and Estonia.

    Cheers!

  2. That’s fantastic that you can actually tell that you are getting through this!! Truly awesome!!
    I hope you have a safe and happy trip. See you in September.
    Your friend, Eric

  3. Greats news. Hope you and your wife have a wonderful holiday, and look forward to further blogs on how you are progressing.

  4. HAHAHA! I’m so pleased for you Fred! You made this happen and I’ve learnt so much from you that reinforces all I believe about the power of our mind.. Your friend in New Zealand, Anne

  5. Amazing. I am very much looking to reading your consolidated information!!! I want to do everything I can to help my hubby out. You are an inspiration. Have a great trip!

  6. That is great news Fred! You do it with your right thinking and attitude, diet and help from Mari. You are a help and inspiration for everyone.
    Withing you a super vacation, Enjoy every minute of it and continue your way to recovery!

  7. Hi Fred, thank you for your posts. My hubby was diagnosed with Parkinson’s but we are trying to overcome this imbalance theu alternative natural means instead of taking medication. Wish us luck.

    • Hi Celine … Thank you for your message. I hope your husband is doing well. Please reassure him that it is possible to recover from PD. It is a matter of restoring proper neurotransmitter balance in the brain by restoring the body to homeostasis. Please have him read the following books by Robert Rodgers [road to recovery from parkinson’s disease], John Coleman [stop parkin’ and start livin’] and Bianca Molle [reboot and rejoice]. Also, check out Howard Shifke on youtube and pdrecovery.com.

      I would also urge him to read the blogs I posted under the ‘how to recover from parkinson’s menu.’

      https://fredphillips.wordpress.com/2014/07/19/recovering-from-parkinsons-disease-introduction/

      Best wishes and please stay in touch!
      Cheers,
      Fred

Leave a Reply

