My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 81 … The Disservice of Labeling a Disease!

natureHow different would your experience have been, Mari began, if when you went to see the neurologist for the first time, rather than telling you that you had an incurable disease, he had said, “The tremors and slowness of movement I’m witnessing are clear indicators that your body is out of balance. They’re telling me that your body is in an acidic state and that you have inflammation, poor gut health, a weakened immune system and a clogged up lymphatic system. In my experience, the symptoms you’re experiencing will likely get worse and you’ll develop other symptoms like loss of balance and difficulty walking. However, we can prevent this from happening by putting you on a strict, natural diet, by bringing more happiness into your life, by addressing any emotional trauma you have experienced, by releasing stress from your body and by strengthening your Chi.”

I didn’t have to think about Mari’s question for very long. “My experience likely would’ve been quite different,” I admitted.

I would imagine this would hold true for just about anybody who is told that they have Parkinson’s or MS or ALS or any other degenerative neurological disease, not to mention, cancer and other major health conditions. The word ‘disease’ tends to strike fear into the heart and the last thing anyone with a health condition needs, is fear.

It seems to me that we need to change the paradigm in which modern medicine functions.  I think it would be to our benefit  to stop labeling and stop using the word disease.  They do us more harm than good.  We need to stop thinking in terms of medications and surgery and instead look at total body health.  The various conditions that we call ‘disease’ are simply indicators that the body is out of balance and putting the body back into balance needs to be our priority.

Allopathic medicine would provide better service if they were to think and operate like naturopathic medicine. If they were to consider total body health, rather than simply focusing on symptoms and prescribing medication.

We also, as a society, need to acknowledge the destructive role our diets, chronic stress and emotional trauma are playing with our health.

Fortunately for me, I realized very quickly that my neurologist was not going to help me to recover my health, and so, I took ownership of my situation and chose a natural path.

I encourage you to do the same!

Have an awesomely natural day!

Leave a Reply

