My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 80 … What is the medical community thinking?

confusionSomething has been puzzling me. In the research that I’ve conducted, medical literature continually points to heavy metal toxicity and inflammation as two of the possible causes of Parkinson’s. If this is the case [and I tend to agree], then why does the medical profession choose medications as its primary form of treatment. It doesn’t seem to make any sense.

If heavy metal toxicity is part of the cause, then heavy metal detoxification must be part of the solution. Similarly, if Parkinson’s is an inflammatory condition, as it is often described, then an anti-inflammatory diet [not anti-inflammatory medication] must also be part of the solution. Neither one of these options was suggested to me, nor have I seen it on any mainstream PD websites.

It’s baffling indeed!

I have connected with a lot of people through this blog, many who are using medications and who are struggling greatly.  They are taking one medication [such as Sinimet] to quell the symptoms and another medication to quell the side effects of the first one.  To me, this seems like insanity and the cause of needless suffering.

I must admit that a few months ago medications were starting to look like a necessary option for me. But now that I understand the role of fear and stress in the development of PD [along with heavy metal toxicity, inflammation and physical trauma], I strongly believe that it is possible to manage and recover through natural therapies. If you want more reassurance, read Road to Recovery from Parkinson’s Disease by Robert Rodgers and Stop Parkin’ and Start Livin’ by John Coleman.

It seems that the medical community is so enamored with medications and surgery that they have the blinders on when it comes to treating chronic illnesses. It doesn’t need to be this way. If the allopathic and naturopathic folks would just get together, we could end a lot of needless suffering and actually start healing people rather than just treating their symptoms with toxic medications.

Have an awesomely natural day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 80 … What is the medical community thinking?

  1. Hi Fred!

    Great post, so insightful!

    The medical community also believes that we should eat margarine, aspartame and other factory produced non-foods….vaccines laden with mercury, fluoride in our water and amalgam in our molars! The list goes on and on.

    Keep doing what your Dr. of natural medicine recommends as they are more in tune with the body, mind and spirit.

    Detoxing won’t happen over night so give it time….a word most of us will soon hate to hear as we try to cure naturally.

    How do you deal with fear Fred? Do you meditate, pray? I would like to know how best to deal with fear as this causes anxiety which doesn’t help the healing process!

    Have a great day Fred!

    Anita.

    • Hi Anita,

      My strategy with fear is twofold: first, release it, and second, overwhelm it with love.

      In order to release fear, I do three things:

      1. Face the things that cause me to experience anxiety [for instance, public speaking] with the attitude that any fear I’m feeling is the result of my thoughts … its not real … and I can change my thoughts..
      2. Use healing prayers
      3. Talk to the fear

      As for overwhelming fear with love, I do the following:

      1. Stand in front of the mirror, raise my eyebrows, tilt my head back, smile and repeat, ‘I am filled with love and happiness!’
      2. I list all the things I love out loud. For example, ‘I love going for a walk. I love swimming. I love teaching karate.’ Etc.
      3. I repeat the following affirmation, ‘love is happiness and happiness is love. Love is kindness and kindness is love. Love is gratitude and gratitude is love. Love is forgiveness and forgiveness is love. [and whatever other things represent love, for example, optimism, integrity, doing your best, living in the present moment, etc. etc.]

      https://fredphillips.wordpress.com/2014/05/20/my-journey-with-parkinsons-a-natural-approach-post-69-processing-and-releasing-fear/

      I hope this helps!
      Cheers,
      Fred

  2. Hi Fred!
    As usual…you make a lot of sense! Especially about recognizing things that you love doing and especially “living in the present moment.”

    Thanks Fred!

Leave a Reply

