My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 74 … Important Dietary Information!

healthy fatsAfter considerable trial and testing I’ve come to the conclusion that the high fat, low carb, moderate protein diet [also called the ketogenic diet] is the ideal diet for me to manage Parkinson’s.

As part of my detox diet strategy, I eliminated refined sugars and high fructose corn syrup three years ago, but I continued to eat fruit. That is, until recently when I realized that eating fruit left me feeling very jittery and with heightened trembling and a great deal of muscle tension. Since eliminating fruit I’ve been feeling much better.

My conclusion about sugar’s affect on neurological conditions [even the natural sugars in fruit] is supported by research. Studies have shown conditions like Alzheimer’s maybe the result of the high sugar, low fat diet that has become so popular in western society.

If you’re concerned about completely eliminating fruits from your diet I would suggest eating low sugar fruits like lemons and berries.  Lemons are particularly great alkaliners, which is essential for restoring the body to homeostasis.

I haven’t been able to find any others with PD reporting a similar experience, so I’d love to hear from you on this subject.

Have an awesomely calm day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 74 … Important Dietary Information!

  1. Dear Fred,
    I just discovered your blog – it is a lovely one.
    Have you ever tried using Mucuna pruriens, a kind of herb.
    Thanks
    Hana

Leave a Reply

