My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 73 … Managing Your Thoughts!

yogi berraPerhaps the most difficult aspect of living with Parkinson’s is managing my thoughts. When faced with ever present trembling, loss of balance, loss of strength and mobility, shuffle walking and other physical challenges, it is far too easy to get lost in dark, negative thoughts.

Quite often, these thoughts seem to come up spontaneously, typically when I’m struggling to do something physical. It might be getting out of a chair or doing up a button or preparing an avocado. I can feel the fear well up in my body. I can feel my throat tighten and my body tremble as my mind projects into the future, ‘What if I’m not able to do this at all? What if I’m not able to look after myself?  What if I’m forced into taking medication in order to cope?’

The good news is that I’ve learned it’s the fear I’m already holding onto [the fear that’s already in my body] that’s at the root of these thoughts and I’ve learned how to deal with them.

Here are the things I do to help keep my thoughts as positive and healthy as possible:

  • Live in the present moment. When I live in the present moment [focus on my breath or just look around and observe] there is no worrying about the future. There is no thinking actually.
  • Practice acceptance, particularly, the present circumstances. I think it would drive me crazy if I constantly questioned why I have this condition and why I’m struggling. The fact is, I’m experiencing it and it is important for me to accept this. It has a purpose and I believe I understand the purpose [for me to let go of fear and help others who are trying to recover from PD].
  • Have an optimistic outlook of the future: I see myself recovering. I see myself playing the guitar again. I see myself speaking to large groups of people about how I recovered. This gives me hope and hope is essential for healing.
  • I talk to my fears: whenever I experience negative thoughts, I talk to them. I tell them that they’re just fear and fear isn’t real. I always feel better when I do this.
  • I repeat positive affirmations: I say things like, ‘love is happiness and happiness is love,” or I list all the things I love to do, like going for a walk. This always puts me in a positive frame of mind.
  • I encourage myself. I tell myself that I’m doing my best, and therefore, I’m doing great. When performing a specific task, I say, “You can do it! You’re doing awesome! You turned off that tap like it was nothing!”

As New York Yankees famed catcher, Yogi Berra, once said, “Baseball is 90% mental and the other half is physical.” While Yogi may have gotten his math mixed up, he was right about the mental challenge of baseball, and the same is true of living with a degenerative health condition. Managing the mental side of things [your thoughts] is paramount to living as joyfully as possible, and eventually, recovering.

Have an awesomely positive day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 73 … Managing Your Thoughts!

  1. There was a fitness trainer on the news on tv saying he teaches boxing to people with Parkinson and the results are very good. Maybe something to look into. I read your blog because my sister who is 70 has alot of the symptoms of Parkinson.

  2. Hi Fred

    Another good, positive blog.

    I went to see Esther in Milton today – took Kevin and she ran the bioresonance machine panels (some of them) on us – I believe you used to practice that when you had your clinic but maybe not with the machine as I recall? In any event, really nice lady, she had a busy practice in Winnipeg doing a lot of healing and helping and is just starting up in Ontario. Kevin and I both went and will return for one more session. I decided against seeing the other guy in Stouffville that I had given you the name of (Brian) – my office mate had success through him but I thought he was over priced and did not have a good vibe from him website. Esther has a very basic website but she came to me via a personal reco from a lady whose daughter had a lot of success with treatments from Esther. Anyhow thought I would pass on Esther’s website to you: http://www.healthyharmonizations.com

    There is a fellow in Georgina doing some type of radionic work but I have not followed up to get his name but might in the future as I know someone who went to him and raved about it.

    Have a great weekend!

    DeeAnn

    Date: Fri, 6 Jun 2014 16:56:30 +0000 To: bnpark@hotmail.com

    • Hi DeeAnn,

      Thank you for sharing this info. I will contact Esther and would love to know how you and Kevin make out.

      Have an awesome weekend as well!
      Cheers,
      Fred

Leave a Reply

