My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 72 … Gratitude, Not Control!

gratitudeI have a confession to make, I have a tendency to obsess over the outcome of things.  For instance, when I post a new blog I will fret over how many views it receives.  Also, each day when I open up wordpress, I fret over how many views I received from the day before.  I know I have no control over how many people check out my blogs [other than how well I write them], but I fret anyway.  I’m somewhat comforted by the fact that renowned spiritual teacher Deepak Chopra also obsesses over such seemingly trivial human matters, but I know that it’s not in my highest best interest to do so, at least not if I want to achieve optimum health.  It is far better, and healthier, to live in gratitude; that is, to be genuinely thankful for everything I have in my life.

The truth is, we have very little control over what goes on in our lives. We really only have control over what we think, say and do.  We have no control over the behavior of others, nor do we have any control over what they may think of us, and yet so often, we try to control these things.

I think this need to control stems mainly from fear [which has become the focus of my healing lately].  Fear of not being good enough.  Fear of feeling powerless. Fear of being unlovable. Fears that were developed in childhood and never resolved.

One of the things I do have control over is my attitude, and there is nothing like an attitude of gratitude. Whereas fretting over things leaves me feeling stressed, I feel good when I feel grateful. When I express gratitude I can almost feel those feel-good endorphins being released in my brain.

The reason this issue is so important to me is because obsessing over outcomes and trying to control things I have no control over tends to cause stress which acidifies the body and creates inflammation, whereas living in gratitude creates happiness which helps alkaline the body. An alkaline body is critical for having a healthy gut, a healthy lymphatic system, a healthy immune system and a body free of inflammation, all of which are essential if I want to recover from Parkinson’s.

So it’s a no-brainer. Practice letting go of the need to control outcomes and make a habit of expressing gratitude. My health depends on it!

Have an awesomely grateful day!

 

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 72 … Gratitude, Not Control!

  1. I finally succumbed to the medication. couldn’t move anymore. Started taking Sinamet carbi levadopa this week. I am moving. I am breathing and swallowing. We’ll see what happens now. Went 5 years on the natural approach. I just couldn’t take anymore mentally and gave in. Living an easier life now for the last week but of course don’t know how long it will last. Keep going my friend. You are my inspiration.

    • Please don’t feel bad about taking medication. You have to do what is best for you and I wrestle with this notion a lot. Please let me know how you doing on the meds. I’m interested to know how they affect you. In the meantime, I urge you to continue to detox your body and your emotions, particularly fear [I really believe that unresolved fear is at the root of Parkinson’s].

      Best wishes,
      Fred

  2. I have a friend who is battling this disease. He is an ex-marine and may take some time to have him open up to natural healing. All of Fred’s prior posts about your health starting through the gut are most relevant. My research also leads me to believe PD is an immune system disorder (caused by allergies, bacteria/virus’, heavy toxins/metals). The problem is our bodies feedback system is not immediate. As such foods that we eat (even healthy ones) can have inflammatory effects even days later. My friend believes his exposure to overseas chemicals weakened his immune system. His instincts may be spot on. Obviously, detoxification (ie. chelation, infrared sauna, oxygen therapy, alkaline diet change), rife therapy (MOPA frequencies for PD), NRF2 activation (Protandim), EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique), grounding and immunotherapy (ie. standard allergy shots) could make a significant difference in overcoming PD. I do not want to dismiss the role of western medicine but in most cases these medicines do not address the root cause. Continuous research coupled with your positive energy will hopefully direct you to a path of healing. In the world of quantum physics it is believed we have attracted our own pathways (see “The Secret” on Netflix). My positive thoughts are directed back to you finding the pathway you seek. Please Google some of the items above (if you have not done so already) and feel free to email me at Mark.Toutain@verizon.net if you have any questions.

    • Thank you for all this information Mark. You have been most generous. I’m familiar with much of what you have mentioned and will research the others. I agree with your assessment on toxicity. I think toxic food, toxic water, toxic air and toxics thoughts [particularly fear] are at the root of Parkinson’s, and thus, this is my focus. I remain confident that I can return my body to homeostasis and recover from the condition.

      Best wishes to you and your friend. I hope he fares well!

      Cheers,
      Fred

Leave a Reply

