My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 68 … Happiness, Essential for Healing!

grannyI’ve spoken about happiness in a number of blogs including a recent post about detoxification. If you’re attempting to overcome an illness, happiness is essential for healing. As Lissa Rankin explains in a TEDTalk video, lifestyle (aka happiness) is as important to healing as is diet and exercise. Unhappiness, conversely, creates stress and stress weakens the immune system, acidifies the body and creates inflammation. It is no coincidence that I developed Parkinson’s during the unhappiest and most stressful period of my life, particularly as it relates to my job and my marriage.

Eckhart Tolle says, unhappiness  occurs when we want the present moment to be something other than it is. Our unwillingness to accept the present circumstances leads to toxic thoughts, which leads to toxic feelings [such as, anger and bitterness], and when left unaddressed, creates chronic stress.

In order to ensure maximum happiness it is essential to examine all areas of one’s life.  Are we happy in our:

  • Relationships
  • Family
  • Career
  • Current job
  • Finances
  • Place of living
  • Social life
  • Sex life
  • Hobbies

If there are areas in which you are unhappy determine what you can do to make changes.  If you are unhappy with your job or career, for example, can you find a new job or can you do something to make your current job more enjoyable. In other words, what can you do to change or accept the present circumstances?

There are documented cases of people who have overcome disease through happiness.  The movie, The Secret, for example profiles a woman who overcame cancer by immersing herself in laughter and happiness.

I do my best to limit my television and movie watching to programs and movies that are joyful and uplifting [this criteria seems to have left me with a rather short list of movies].  Lately, I’ve been watching a lot of Kelly and Michael Live, Modern Family and the Beverly Hillbillies [I had forgotten how funny Irene Ryan was as the lovable and zany Granny].

I also try to spend as much time as possible living in the present moment. For me, living in the present moment is very joyful.  Whenever I bring my attention to the present moment I always feel euphoric!

Oh yes, there is one other thing I do to create more happiness in my life.  I avoid the evening news.  In fact, I avoid all news.  Most news is bad news and very little of it affects my life directly, so why watch it? People tell me that I need to know what’s going on in the world, but at the present moment, happiness and healing are far more important to me than being up on current events.

Have an awesomely happy day!

6 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 68 … Happiness, Essential for Healing!

  1. I had thought about that type of list over the years and for me it was easy for a while because I had all those things (family, job, relationships, interesting job, secure finances etc). Then I learned that when you think like that, if you lose one of those, you feel unhappy. I think it far better to look underneath at the needs those things fulfill. For example, family, social life and relationships fulfill our need for connection, belonging and care but we can fulfill those needs through a community group, connecting with nature or owning a pet. Likewise job, hobbies and career fulfill our need for contribution and creativity and we can fulfill those needs by community service (contribution) or artistic pastimes (creativity). By looking at the needs underneath then our whole world does not have to fall apart if we lose one of the satisfiers (eg losing a job or a relationship breakdown) because we can find another satisfier for that need and the satisfier may be from a completely different and unexpected source. .

    PS. I agree with you about the evening news. 🙂

    • What an awesome insight Elizabeth! Examining the underlying drivers allows us to understand what influences our level of happiness. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

      I hope you have an awesome day!
      Fred

Leave a Reply

