My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 67 … Parkinson’s has a Purpose!

purposeParkinson’s has a purpose, for me individually and for humankind. I believe this with all my heart [and an occasionally irrational mind!].

I’m sure you’ve heard the expression, everything happens for a reason. I believe there is a reason for life and I believe there is a reason for everything that happens in life, including disease.

For me,personally I think the purpose of Parkinson’s is threefold. First, it is to help me overcome fear and self loathing. Second, it is meant to teach me about the workings of the human body and the importance of eating healthy foods. Third, it is meant to guide me to teach what I’m learning about recovering from it [I’m already teaching].

For humankind, Parkinson’s, like so many other phenomenon happening on the planet [like rapidly rising autism rates], is meant to guide this to a better way of living. We eat poorly and live very unhealthy lifestyles, we’re far too obsessed with money and we take far too many pills in order to treat our illnesses. In that sense it is meant to encourage us to be more holistic, more loving, more kind and more grateful for what we have.  It is meant to guide is to a more conscious way living.

For the person experiencing Parkinson’s it is very difficult to live a normal life, particularly once the condition progresses beyond a certain point.  Family members are also affected as they take on the role of caregivers.

Parkinson’s has the potential to cause a great deal of hardship.  It can cause suffering, but when we understand that suffering has a purpose it puts us in a more optimistic frame of mind.  It gives us hope that the suffering can be overcome. Without hope, we risk succumbing to the suffering.

It has been extremely important for me to look beyond my present situation to try to grasp the bigger picture. Understanding that Parkinson’s has a purpose has been my salvation. It has brought meaning to my experience. It has literally saved my life.

Have an awesomely purposeful day!

3 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 67 … Parkinson’s has a Purpose!

Leave a Reply

