My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 66 … Tension

tensionLately I have been feeling a lot of muscle tension, particularly in my shoulders, back, arms, neck and throat [muscle tension is common with PD]. At times it can be very intense, so much so that I have to stop doing what I’m doing and take steps to relieve it.  The tension is particularly bad when I’m preparing meals, taking my supplements, doing dishes and frequently when I’m sitting at the computer [anything that involves fine motor skills].

Tension results from stress and stress, quite often, results from anxiety and fear. So the question is, is tension a symptom of a neurological dysfunction [PD] or is it from the fear of having the neurological dysfunction. I believe the tension I’m experiencing is mostly the result of fear [certainly the muscle testing I have done would seem to indicate that].

This makes perfect sense. First, thinking about the future [with PD] is quite scary. The thought of becoming immobile, unable to speak and unable to care for myself is indeed daunting. Second, the tension, coincidentally, came along at the same time fear kind of took over my life!

If you read my PD blog post 63 you will know that I believe fear is at the root of Parkinson’s, and so, if the road to recovery involves releasing fear, then by extension, tension will be relieved at the same time.

Perhaps then I can put a positive spin on experiencing tension. If I’m feeling tension, I must also be holding on to fear, so tension tells me I have fear to release.  It serves as my fear thermometer, telling me I have some releasing to do.

In addition to the techniques I am using to release fear [Dialogue. Healing Prayer, Positive Affirmations and Living in the Present Moment], I’m doing three things to relieve the tension as best I can:

  1. Body Stress Relief [my monthly sessions give me great relief]
  2. Qigong
  3. Stretches [focusing on shoulders and back]

Have an awesomely relaxing day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 66 … Tension

  1. Hi Fred
    I don’t know if you’ve experienced swallowing issue. It’s scary as I’m experiencing that for several days now. My neck, throat stiffens and it’s becoming harder to swallow. Cold drinks, meals, weather seems to trigger or worsen this new symptom. It feels my throat is constricting. I hope and pray this is only temporary.

    • As I understand it James, according to my neurologist, the throat doesn’t constrict. Rather, the muscles lose motility. Three things have helped me immensely:

      1. Chiropractic treatments
      2. Yelling
      3. Retraining the muscles by telling them, ‘it’s time to swallow this food.’

      I hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

