My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 65 … Crisis Averted!

crisisI recently overcame a fairly major crisis. It began near the end of March when I started having anxiety and panic attacks [common aspects of PD]. I have never experienced anything quite like it and I hope I never do again. At times it felt like I was losing my mind.

Three things helped me get through this crisis:

  1. I learned that anxiety [and panic] are, in part, the result of having weak adrenal glands, and I’ve been addressing this with supplements.
  2. I learned that the manifestation of anxiety is simply fear wanting to get out of the body, and I’ve been addressing this through EFT, meditation and my healing mantra.
  3. I visited my neurologist and found out the thing I was most afraid of [my throat closing over and having to use a feeding tube] isn’t going to happen [the throat doesn’t close over. Instead, it’s ability to move food from the mouth to the esophagus diminishes]. In other words, the fear I was experiencing wasn’t real. It was just faulty thinking.

I haven’t had any panic attacks since visiting the neurologist and only a couple of minor bouts of anxiety, which is very awesome! Quite a relief indeed!

The end, however, isn’t in sight just yet. There is another crisis looming [another opportunity perhaps] and it has mainly to do with mobility. I am continuing to lose mobility, strength, dexterity and coordination, particularly on the left side of my body. This greatly concerns me, particularly as it relates to my ability to take care of myself.  I love my independence and I want to maintain it for as long as I can [ideally, another 40 to 50 years!] I’m doing my best stay in the moment and surrender to whatever lies ahead, but it is hard not to feel anxiety from time to time.

In the meantime, I’m continuing to focus on my recovery and expressing gratitude that I’m no longer experiencing panic attacks.

This averted crisis did have one other important benefit. It served as a reminder that for every problem, there is a solution. When I first started experiencing panic attacks I didn’t know about the role of the adrenal glands, nor the role of anxiety in releasing fear, nor that I was operating under false information. This gives me great hope that there is indeed a solution for my diminishing mobility and the other conditions that are continuing to progress. It gives me great hope that the any additional information I need to have will come to me at the appropriate time. I just have to stay the course and keep digging and maintaining a positive attitude.

Have an awesomely positive day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 65 … Crisis Averted!

  1. Hi Fred!

    What a horrible experience that must have been for you and others going through the symptoms of PD.

    It certainly is difficult to remain positive in light of what you are experiencing…keep your head up Fred! Better days ahead.

    Hopefully now that we are experiencing some nicer weather, complete with life supporting Vitamin D…you will have more positive days.

    Cheers, Anita.

  2. Dear Fred, we have to be brave don’t we. My big fear is similar to yours. I don’t want to lose my independence. Some of my symptoms are bothersome but I am still able to do most things for myself (after 14 years since diagnosis). One thing I try to do everyday is some sort of exercise. Luckily I can still play tennis, on meds of course. I walk 1-2 miles on days I don’t play, I go waterskiing 2-3 in the summer and I swim. I’ve had the attitude of determination to not give in for the last 6 years. I hate dyskenisia the most. It really sucks! Have a great day!

    • Hi Pamela,

      It sounds like you are doing quite well, which is awesome, although I can imagine it must be difficult experiencing dyskenisia. If you haven’t already done so, I would urge you to read the books by Robert Rodgers [road to recovery from parkinson’s disease] and John Coleman [stop parkin’ and start livin’]. Both books are available on Amazon. John Coleman, a naturopath from Australia made a full recovery from PD, while Robert Rodgers profiles a number of people who made similar recoveries. Also if you haven’t already done so, I would urge you to read the blogs I posted in the ‘my recovery from parkinson’s’ section.

      It is definitely possible to get off medication so that you don’t have to experience the side effects and it is also possible to fully recover from PD. I can say this from experience, because I’ve started to recover.

      Blessings on your journey and please stay in touch,
      Fred

Leave a Reply

