My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 61… Peace by the Lake!

lake shoreThis past Friday for my daily walk I decided to venture down to the shores of Lake Ontario. Mari lives about a 20 minute walk from the lake, so it’s quite accessible. At the midpoint of my walk I stopped and sat on the rocks along the shore and there under the clear blue sky I found a moment of peace. The lake was calm and the temperature was quite warm. It was very serene!

The peace I found though wasn’t so much from the setting, as it was from my body and my mind. They too were calm. There was no tension or trembling in my arms. None of the negative thoughts that had been plaguing me for much of the prior week. No anxiety!

It was awesome indeed and a much appreciated respite!

I have experienced this calmness around water before, perhaps because I’ve long had a love for this basic element. While sitting there, I had the pleasure of watching various waterfowl diving for fish, while cormorants and Canada Geese winged by, their wing tips barely above the water’s surface. All the while, seagulls circled overhead, their familiar caw further evidence of being at the water’s edge.

Any moment of peace is a moment savoured by those experiencing Parkinson’s and I truly enjoyed this one! Until the next time, wishing you many moments of serenity!

Have an awesomely peaceful day!

2 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 61… Peace by the Lake!

Leave a Reply

