My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 57 … It would be easy to ask, ‘why me?’

heavenIt would be easy for me to ask, ‘why me?’ Why did I develop Parkinson’s? Given everything that I’ve already endured in my life and all the awesome stuff that I was embarking on around the time I was diagnosed, it might seem a tad unfair.

I think the old saying, ‘God never gives us more than we can handle,’ needs a slight revision. I think it should read, ‘God never gives us more than we THINK we can handle or what seems fair,’ because clearly God gives lots of people more than they think they can handle or what they deem as fair, otherwise, there would be no nervous breakdowns and no suicide.

I don’t know that I’ve endured more than the average person on this planet, certainly I haven’t had to live through war, famine, discrimination, natural disaster or any other such calamity, but I would say that I’ve certainly had my fair share of challenges. I have experienced cancer and other health issues, divorce, the loss of friends, a failed business venture, bullying and a lot of what might be considered, unfair treatment. Enough stuff, that I think I could put forth a strong case to omit me from any further hardship.

What is more, at the time I started developing symptoms, my life was just taking off. I had just left an unhappy corporate job and an unhappy marriage, and I had started teaching martial arts as my primary source of income, writing a book  and playing guitar as a hobby. I couldn’t have been happier! Then along comes Parkinson’s and turns my life upside down.

Clearly, God [or perhaps my higher self] had other plans for me, or at least, more challenges! And I think this is the way to look at it; as a challenge. Mostly a mental challenge, because when you take the mental aspect of it out of the equation, all you’re left with is experience. It’s our thoughts, or judgments, that cause us to label experiences as good or bad, joyful or painful,and in turn, to feel anxiety and bitterness.

There are definitely two sides to my experience with Parkinson’s. Purely from a symptoms standpoint, I wouldn’t wish it on anybody. It is very unpleasant dealing with tremors, loss of balance, loss of strength and dexterity, loss of the use of your hands and constriction in the throat among other things. At certain times, they actually scare me, particular when I am confronted with their daily progression. But on the other hand, I’ve learned so much in my quest to heal myself and I’ve been able to communicate what I’ve learned through the blogs I’m writing [and I absolutely love blogging], that its hard to find the downside.

Yes, it would be easy for me to question this experience and judge it; on the one hand, bad, because of the symptoms, but on the other hand, awesome, because of what I’ve learned and blogged. But I’m doing my best to avoid questioning and judging and just allowing the experience to unfold, because the only thing I really have control over is my attitude and the best thing I can do for myself is to have a positive attitude.

What I experienced in my life prior to developing Parkinson’s matters not. What matters is what is happening right now, in this moment, and what matters most, is am I accepting of what is happening or am I resisting it. Because if I resist it, I will cause my own suffering and create the illusion that God is giving me more than I can handle. Quite frankly, I would rather empower myself and so I accept and experience!

Have an awesomely divine day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 57 … It would be easy to ask, ‘why me?’

  1. What a beautiful touching story Fred. Thank-you for reaching out to so many people who will most definitely benefit from your writings. You are a blessing.

  2. Hello, I started following your blog because I was in search of how to help my father who is diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease. I, as well, in my twenties, am experiencing illness and anxiety and depression. So I find useful information for myself too. Because the way you write about illness can apply to any kind of illness. I am so sick of illness all around me and just want to UNDERSTAND why this is happening!! Not following our hearts, supressing and not expressing our true nature, RESISTING too much, NOT ACCEPTING what is HAPPENING NOW, not TRUSTING. I think this is why illnesses come. To remind us:” hey, you’re doing something wrong in your life, don’t go that way!” My father doesn’t have the strenght to search for his health and what is the same thing – himself. Sometimes I think that he is just waiting around to die, because it is as you said: “he THINKS he can’t handle what God has given to him”. It is hard to accept, not to resist, to believe!, to express everything we feel – but it’s a practice, a Path, a Life – mine, yours, everyone’s. THANK YOU for writing such a beautiful and inspiring blog, full of information and experiences! Keep up!
    Hugs from other side of the world (if my english is weird:), it’s because I’m not a native speaker nor do I use it actively)
    Ana

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Ana! I think part of the reason the human race is experiencing so much sickness is because the universe is trying to guide us to a more wholesome, spiritual way of living, rather than being so obsessed with money and financial gain. If only we would get the message.

      I understand your challenges with your father. My family went through the same thing last year with my mother. Each of us chooses our own path and we must honor everyone’s chosen journey … as difficult as that may be when it involves a loved one!

      I would encourage you to check out Eckhart Tolle. He is an incredible spiritual teacher who offers much wisdom.

      Cheers,
      Fred

      PS, you’re English is quite good 🙂

  3. I have never been affected by any disease, so I can’t say I know what you’re going through. But I wish you the best of luck in dealing with it and getting past it! This post made me think of my sister, who is going to school right now to become a dance therapist and help people who have Parkinson’s and other movement issues.

    • Thank you so much for stopping by MoS and for your encouraging words. I’m aware of the dance program for people with Parkinson’s, so good on your sister for getting involved. That’s awesome!

      Cheers for now,
      Fred

  4. Your list of things that you haven’t experienced (war, famine etc) made me appreciate more what I do have that I sometimes forget (living in a relatively free and democratic society). My own problems are small in comparison 🙂
    I love your outlook at coping with your illness, as a means of your own growth through your writing and communication. You give others courage.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Elizabeth. I’m seeing more and more how isolated and even desperate some people who are experiencing Parkinson’s [and I’m sure, other conditions] are feeling and I’ll do anything I can to help.

      Have an awesome day!
      Cheers,
      Fred

Leave a Reply

