My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 51 … I’m Looking Forward to Spring!

springI am really looking forward to spring! While I’m doing my best to take each day one day at a time (a characteristic of my ‘living in the present moment’ philosophy), I don’t mind telling you that this unusually cold winter has been quite a challenge and I’m excited about the arrival of spring.

My excitement is mainly because I like to go for a walk each day and the extreme cold has necessitated putting on extra layers. A lot of extra layers! This hasn’t been easy, having lost significant mobility and dexterity on my left side.  It has been taking me roughly 20 to 25 minutes just to get dressed and get out of the house and while I try not to think of the time it takes, it has been at times quite frustrating, fumbling with zippers and struggling to pull on each layer.

If I didn’t know better, I would say God is testing me.  Well, perhaps me and a few million other souls. Actually, there’s no point in trying to read something more divine into this, it just is what it is.

Despite my travails, I still consider myself very fortunate. After all, I don’t live in Ukraine or Syria. I have my freedom!

I’m also excited about the arrival of spring because it means being outdoors more often. That means doing some sun tanning and making vitamin D naturally. It also means doing lots of grounding [putting my bare feet on the ground], a great way to heal and energize the body. Research has shown that electrons from the earth have antioxidant properties which help protect against and heal inflammation.

Yes, I definitely love warmer temperatures. I love doing my morning walks along the lake with the waves lapping against the shore, ducks swimming in the water and birds flying overhead. It’s an awesome spectacle! Great for the soul!

Have an awesomely spring-like day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 51 … I’m Looking Forward to Spring!

  1. Hi Fred

    Yes spring is going to be such a joyous time -even 5 degrees is going to seem tropical after this long cold winter!

    I notice you say the Ukraine – I was saying that too until someone of Ukranian descent this week said to me – cut it out – it is Ukraine like France or Germany – not the Ukraine. I said oh okay and now I hear on the radio and tv that it is Ukraine. I told my friend that I am so sorry but having gone to school in the day of USSR that it was called ‘ the Ukraine’ as it was a region not a country all those years and old habits die hard and I would no longer say ‘the Ukraine’ but Ukraine – I am on day 2 of making the change – I was glad she pointed it out to me as I don’t want to offend anyone about it so I’m passing on that info in case you want to change your way of saying it too but up to you

    Take care

    DeeAnn

    Date: Wed, 5 Mar 2014 17:10:02 +0000 To: bnpark@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

