My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 47 … Speech recognition software

keyboardsI just discovered something amazing. It is speech recognition software. Yes, to you techno-wizards, it must look like I was living in the dark ages … but that is okay!

I’ve been having great difficulty typing lately because I have limited use of my left hand. So I did some research online and discovered that there are several software applications available with speech recognition capabilities, including a free Windows application.

For me, this is a godsend!

I am using the Windows application now to create this post. Fantastic!

I haven’t figured out how to use the application in WordPress, so I am dictating in Wordpad and copying to WordPress. It is a slightly slower process at the moment, but it is much easier than typing and lots of fun!  I feel like a kid in a candy shop!

Here is a link to a website that provides a good analysis of the various speech recognition applications. To check out Windows Speech Recognition, go to your Start menu and in the search box at the bottom, type ‘speech recognition.’ Then click on Start speech recognition and follow the instructions.

Windows has a very good online tutorial that is easy to follow and I would recommend using it to get started.

Now, if I could just figure out how to get this app to clean my house!

Have an awesomely speech-filled day!

2 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 47 … Speech recognition software

  1. Fred, when you figure the cleaning bit out pleeeeease let me know….
    The speech recognition is a great thing. I noticed you can speak messages on the smartphone too. I pressed the wrong button one day by accident. 🙂

Leave a Reply

