My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 35 … God’s Not So Humourous Sense of Humour!

sense of humourIf God is looking down on us, he (I’m using the masculine pronoun here for literary purposes because I believe the universal intelligence we call God actually embodies both masculine and feminine) must be doing so with a great sense of humour. How else could he do so without wondering what went wrong … given the greed, anger, fear and wanton destruction of the planet that characterizes human existence (sorry for the slightly dark intro)!

God must also have a sense of humour for bestowing on us conditions like Parkinson’s, ALS, cancer, heart disease, CFS, Alzheimer’s, schizophrenia, MS, epilepsy, stroke, arthritis and the like, sending us scurrying off in every which direction trying to discover the magic potion that will cure us!

But if God has a sense of humour, it can’t be very humourous. In fact, it must be downright dark because as anyone who has experienced the conditions I listed above knows (or cared for somebody who has), it’s not very pleasant! As a person living with Parkinson’s, I can assure you that it’s not much fun! Between the loss of balance, loss of dexterity in my left hand, loss of strength, loss of movement and so on, everything I do, including typing at this keyboard, is a challenge. Some things, like riding a motorcycle and playing guitar are no longer doable. As I watch myself struggle and as I watch humanity flounder, it’s like watching a scene from a dark comedy. I don’t know if I should laugh or cringe!

If God is the great creator (which I believe God is) then there must be a reason for this. I think God wants us to change the way we live. God wants us to stop destroying ourselves and the planet and what better way to do it than saddle us with a beguiling potpourri of conditions that both confound us and cause us to suffer.

Clearly, freewill hasn’t worked. Left to our own devices, we’re on the verge of destroying everything in sight, all in the name of wealth and power! So God is intervening (I believe) in the hope that we’ll change our priorities, from wealth to conservation, from power to kindness!

Believe me, my priorities have changed. I used to be obsessed with wealth creation and climbing to the top of the corporate ladder, but now, when I choke on a piece of food because of the constriction in my throat, when I struggle to do up the zipper on my coat, when I shuffle walk up the sidewalk and when I think of my mom succumbing to ALS, the last thing I’m thinking about is wealth creation. Rather, I’m thinking about survival and maintaining my independence and I’m thinking about God’s not so humourous sense of humour and hoping like heck we’re going to get it!

As Homer would say, ‘stupid sense of humour!’

Have an awesomely humourous day!

If you found this post meaningful, you might also enjoy The Higher Purpose of PD or The Cure for PD!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 35 … God’s Not So Humourous Sense of Humour!

  1. For some reason, it is always people who change their thinking and attitude after something happens, either to themselves or to close friends. You are right that it might be that this is God’s wake up call to humans.

Leave a Reply

