My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 20 … Causes and Risk Factors

stormThe medical community tells us that Parkinson’s occurs when dopamine producing cells in the substantia nigra located in the mid-brain begin to prematurely die off. Dopamine is a neurotransmitter involved in, among other things, movement and muscle control, which is what leads to tremoring, loss of balance and so on. What nobody seems to know however, is what causes this premature cell die off.

Dr. Robert Morse, the American naturopath, believes all disease is simply the result of a breakdown in body chemistry. That is, when the body becomes acidic, when it develops inflammation, when the lymph system becomes clogged up, when we develop leaky gut and when or our glands and organs stop functioning properly, we develop disease. What causes the development of specific diseases, however, is a bit of a mystery!

There is speculation that Parkinson’s may be related to over exposure to insecticides and heavy metals, but this is just speculation and neither applies to me. Here’s what does apply to me. Although I first developed symptoms in 2003/04, my health issues actually trace all the way back to 1976 when I was in university. At that time, I developed a spontaneous ‘brain fog’ (I can still remember the exact moment it occurred). I also started experiencing migraine headaches, digestive problems and food sensitivities (it took over 15 years to figure out that I had food sensitivities). This sudden change in my health occurred at a time when I was under high stress, eating poorly and drinking excessively. The Sunday night the change took place followed two weeks of intense studying and exams and a weekend of binge drinking.

Also, in the years leading up to this time, I experienced two severe head injuries (both requiring hospitalization) and had several very traumatic experiences (including the loss of two very close friends) and a couple of major disappointments concerning the loss of childhood dreams (I wanted to be a professional hockey player and a veterinarian).

I also grew up with a lot of anger and it was a big influence on my behaviour and my life during this period … not to mention, I’m assuming, my brain chemistry.

It’s worth mentioning that several years ago I did some research into brain fog and discovered that it was connected to Chronic Fatigue Syndrome . Even more compelling, was the discovery that it was thought to result, in part, from a deficiency of dopamine.

In the years leading up to the onset of the first symptoms I was very unhappy with my job and my marriage, I was stressed about our finances and I was overloaded with ‘life.’

What would be interesting to know, is how many people experiencing Parkinson’s had similar life experiences including one or more of the following:

  • head injuries
  • excessive alcohol consumption
  • high stress
  • major disappointments
  • loss of close friends (especially during childhood)
  • traumatic experiences
  • poor diet
  • migraine headaches
  • food sensitivities
  • brain fog
  • digestive issues
  • career stress
  • marital stress
  • financial stress

So  what does all this mean? Perhaps nothing, but it would be interesting to create a database to see if there is a common thread … or two! The first book I read about Parkinson’s said there was no link between head injuries and PD, and I remember thinking, “Duh! Head injuries! Neurological disorder! There has to be a connection, just like the way stress, trauma, alcohol and poor diet can alter brain chemistry. Put them all together and it’s a very lethal cocktail. The perfect storm! There has to be a connection!

Have an awesomely risk-less day!

4 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 20 … Causes and Risk Factors

  1. I think you are right on target. I’ve had the similar incidences occur in my life including head injuries and high stress job and then close losses including death of my mother and father one month apart. I thought of this often because of our support group we have several people who have the same situation and similarities in their past. these people also have similarities in there symptoms and progression of the disease that are in some ways different from the PD people in our group who have genetics connections and pesticide in their past. I was looking at adrenal fatigue very closely because it seem to match a lot of my symptoms. I believe there is something going on that we need to look at very closely. thank you for your observation Fred.

    • Hi Sheila … thank you for your message. I suspect a lot of people are going to report similar experiences. Michael J Fox has.

      I believe you are right about adrenal fatigue. Dr Robert Morse talks about this. He believes all disease is just a breakdown in body chemistry. If you want to know more, check the link below. The blog contains a link to a really good Morse video.

      Cheers,
      Fred

  2. My father has Parkinson’s and I can vouch he has experienced all 15 points above. I’m currently taking Anatomy & Physiology and your article covers a lot of what we have discussed during class even without discussing specifically the relation to Parkinson’s disease. I will definitely share the article with my instructor and students in my class this week. 🙂

    • Hi Vanessa. Thank you for message. I am sorry to hear about your father, but I am intrigued by the similarities in our experiences. I am convinced there is a connection and I am excited to hear from other readers.

      Best wishes to you and your dad!

Leave a Reply

