My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 16 … Guest Blog on Acupuncture

acupunctureThe following is a guest blog on acupuncture by Ruth from epilepsymeandneurology. I haven’t tried acupuncture for Parkinson, but Ruth has found it helpful. If you’ve used it, I’d love to hear from you.

Acupuncture

What is it good for?

Well, I started my Bachelors of Science in Acupuncture and Chinese medicine (CM) last April when I was made redundant. Studying acupuncture is the latest chapter in my life long road trip, which involves me managing epilepsy and trying to remain a paid member of the work force (as a student there is definitely more money going out than coming in at the moment!).

There were a few reasons I wanted to study Chinese medicine, the last of which is earning money. Firstly, Chinese medicine is 2000 years old and I am not, I just feel like it some days! So, CM has many more years of experience in health than I do.

Second, I have found that as a person with a neurological condition a systems based approach to health is definitely best. Whilst I have been unable to get off my daily medication for epilepsy (they have let me road test many formulas in the name of ‘cure’) I can safely say that the holistic and integrative approaches I have found most successful do not come in the form of the sugar coated kind.

Third, CM encompasses many approaches in its integrative nature. These are, broadly speaking; herbs, acupuncture, cupping, gua sha, tui na, tai chi, chi gong, Moxa, diet/nutrition to name but a few.

Fourth, I wanted to know if I could get any further in managing my seizures. I still have hormone related seizures. It is way better than when I started when light, sleep and food would set me off. I don’t head bang any more either which is a big bonus. I have partial seizures most frequently.

Acupuncture in particular is pretty good at hormone related problems. There are a lot of people who seek fertility, menstrual and migraine related assistance from acupuncturists, many of whom are successfully treated.

So far, acupuncture has evened out my cycle and helped with migraines. My seizure frequency is down which is a good sign. I still go for osteopathy and shiatsu as well. I found that if I don’t keep to a regular treatment pattern then problems creep back in. This is not cheap, but as I am not able to function without putting this kind of thought into my life, it is worth every penny.

Earning a degree in Chinese medicine might sound like a drastic step in managing your own health care, but I have realized that only I can take on the responsibility for my own health fully. I am my neurologists worst nightmare, because I do ask a LOT of questions. When no one can tell me what is in my medication or why it does or doesn’t work I don’t take it lying down.

Eventually I would like to be able to use my degree to help others in my predicament. This is some time off, but hopefully if I work hard I can do it.

Be well and happy!

Thank you Fred for allowing me to write this guest blog! You’re a Rockstar!

And thank you Ruth! One of the challenges of healing any condition naturally is finding the right treatment. Hopefully, by sharing information and experiences we can ease this task.

Have an awesomely informative day!

Leave a Reply

