My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 15 … Faith and Determination

guitarIn the face of any challenge, be it a financial crisis, marriage breakdown, job loss or chronic illness, the best weapon we have to deal with it is faith and determination.

In the last ten years, I’ve actually experienced all of these challenges, but the way I look at it, I’m very fortunate. I don’t live in Syria or Iraq or Afghanistan or North Korea or the Philippines or any other place in the world beset with war, oppression or natural disaster. I think living in these countries would require an enormous amount of faith and determination.

Parkinson’s, like any other condition, has its challenges. The symptoms, which are many, make day-to-day living (like typing on this keyboard) quite a test of strength and character. Sometimes I get frustrated and angry and sometimes I laugh, but always, I am determined to make the best of it. I don’t think about the future or bemoan my situation (like no longer being able to play the guitar), but rather to devote my energies towards doing other things I love (like teaching martial arts and blogging) and finding a solution. This gives me hope!

As an aside, I have not for a moment wavered in my resolve to heal this naturally. I believe it can be done and I have no intentions of taking any medications. For me, taking meds would be like throwing in the towel and saying, I give up. You win!” I have faith that the body can heal itself, given the right conditions, particularly as it relates to diet, and focusing on this is what keeps me moving forward. In this way, I cherish the challenge.

What also helps me enormously, is the belief that everything in my life is unfolding the way it is meant to and no matter what happens, I’m going to be okay. I have faith in the flow of life. I believe there is a higher purpose for our existence, and everything that exists, everything that happens, is part of this purpose. I have faith that developing Parkinson’s is part of this purpose and I believe that my determination to heal it naturally and communicate my journey in order to help others is also part of this purpose.

Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen.” I have faith that my decision to heal myself naturally is the right decision, I have faith that the solution will come to me and I am determined to do everything I can to make it happen.

I am determined to play my guitar again some day!

Have an awesomely faithful day!

If  you found this post meaningful you my also enjoy my post on the higher purpose of disease.

2 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 15 … Faith and Determination

Leave a Reply

