My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 14 … Living With Parkinson’s

modern familySomeone  asked me recently what it’s like living with Parkinson’s, particularly given that I’m not taking any medication. After thinking about it for a moment, one word popped into my mind. Unsettling!

Living with Parkinson’s is unsettling. Given the almost nonstop trembling, loss of balance and loss of dexterity in my left hand, not to mention both the awareness and realization that this is a progressive condition, it’s definitely unsettling. But then I have to remind myself that rather than being symptoms of a so called ‘disease without cure,’ they are all just manifestations of an internal body chemistry that is out of order … and this can be corrected.

It’s also at times frustrating, tiresome and scary, which is why it’s so important to accept the situation and live in the present moment. I don’t ask, “Why me?” or spend time fretting over what I might have done differently … like not drink so much. Rather, I devote my time and energy trying to figure out how to heal myself and help others.

Having said that, it can definitely be frustrating doing up zippers, typing or doing anything that involves my left hand. Even taking my wallet out of my pants can be a chore. And it’s not because I’m cheap!

Out in public, I feel a little bit conscious of the trembling, so I’ll hold my hands in such a way as to minimize it. It’s also a challenge standing in line … like at the bank … with my balance, or imbalance as it were, being what it is. I also worry that one day the gas station attendant is going to call the police on me when he sees me fumbling around with my wallet, while staggering all over the place trying to fill up the tank (I exaggerate!).

It’s little bit sad that I had to sell my motorcycle and I can no longer play the guitar or mandolin, but in the meantime, I still get to do lots of things I love, like teach martial arts, blog, go for my morning walks, hang out with my kids and spend time with Mari. Besides, I hold the belief that I will be able to play the guitar again some day!

I also hold the belief that all experiences, good or unpleasant, are simply part of the flow of life and the best way to deal with any situation is with a good attitude (somebody remind me of this the next time I’m stuck in traffic!) and a healthy dose of optimism. And if ever I feel myself getting down, I’ll just watch an episode of Modern Family. Nothing so healing as a half an hour of laughter.

Have an awesomely settling day!

12 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 14 … Living With Parkinson’s

  1. I look forward to playing guitar with you someday Fred. Keep on blogging and living in the moment. You are a massive inspiration to me. See you tonight at my favourite part of the week, karate.

  2. You go, Fred-I applaud your proactive efforts! As a care partner, I sometimes feel a bit of frustration with my extended family’s concern about my wife’s attempts at Ayurvedic and natural approaches to the disease. They wonder if this is a waste of time and a detriment to quality of life which , in their eyes,might be possible with the use of conventional meds. In the throws of persistent symptoms, sometimes my wife wants to chuck it all and go straight for the levodopa. Have you experienced this? What can I do to be more supportive? Should I make attempts to keep her on track? Thanks for your insight-best of luck.

    • Hi Richard,

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I can relate to your experience with your family. My girlfriend has been amazingly supportive, but my family, as a whole, not so much … ironically, some think I’m nuts! I have not for a moment wavered in my resolve to heal this naturally. I believe it can be done and I have no intentions of taking meds. For me, taking meds would be like throwing in the towel and saying, I give up. You win!” I believe the body can heal itself, given the right conditions, particularly as it relates to diet. . Focusing on this is what keeps me moving forward. I cherish the challenge.

      The best advice I can offer is to be supportive in whatever approach your wife wants to take. Encourage her to research especially as it relates to diet.

      I have found a great deal of solace in Eckhart Tolle’s teachings, particularly as it relates to living in the present moment. I would encourage you and your wife to check him out.

      Best wishes Richard.
      Cheers,
      Fred

      • Thanks, Fred-that helps a lot…she is a big fan of Eckhart Tolle, and like you, she is trying very hard, and that’s all we can expect. Continued success on your efforts to play the guitar again…as a guitar player, you might take inspiration from the career of JB Hutto, who was quite an accomplished traditional blues guitar player until something happened to his hand. He reinvented himself and became an even greater slide player. All the best to you.

      • Thank you Richard and thank you for telling me about JB Hutto. Man, he can play! Best wishes to you and your wife. If she’s a fan of Eckhart, she’s going to be okay!

        Cheers,
        Fred

    • Thank you so much for your kind words LB! I draw great inspiration from Victor Frankl, who said, “We don’t always control over our experiences, but we do have control over our attitude!”

      Cheers,
      Fred

Leave a Reply

