The Dryer … Evil Piece of Machinery or Just a Sense of Humour

dryerI recently made an important discovery. Now, this isn’t the type of finding likely to win me or anybody else a Nobel Prize for scientific achievement, but it could save a marriage or two.

And the nature of my discovery? The dryer turns t-shirts inside-out!

You see, the other day I made a point of turning a t-shirt outside-out (I don’t know about you, but I find folding laundry tedious enough, without having to turn clothing outside-out in the process) and when I pulled the clothes out of the dryer, the t-shirt was … inside-out!

Who knew?

I’m going to have to call my children to apologize for all the times I chastised them for failing to ensure their clothing was turned outside-out before tossing them into the laundry hamper! I can only hope they’re not too emotionally scarred!

Now, some do-gooders will surely suggest that the washing machine is responsible for this cold malfeasance, but quite frankly I don’t buy this for a minute. The washer is a hard worker and far too busy for such deception. The dryer, on the other hand, strikes me as the type to mess with my head in this manner, It has plenty of time to plot mischievousness while waiting for the washer to do its thing.

Aha! I just figured out something else! If the dryer ย is capable of turning clothing inside-out, it must also be behind the mystery of the disappearing socks! When you think about it, socks couldn’t possibly sneak away on their own. They must have an accomplice and only the devious dryer is capable of providing such safe passage!

I see you nodding your head in agreement!

Jerry Seinfeld will sleep much easier tonight!

Be vigilant folks. Your dryer is lurking in the shadows waiting for the opportunity to unleash its evil doings … or perhaps show you that it simply has a sense of humour!

Have an awesomely noble day!

If you like this post you might also like Kids Say the Darndest Thingsย or Please Don’t Tell Me Secrets!

10 comments on “The Dryer … Evil Piece of Machinery or Just a Sense of Humour

  1. Good one Fred! In addition to your experience I must mention the “bagging” phenomena – all the smaller pieces get tightly packed into a duvet cover and/or pillow cases, nicely wrinkled and still damp ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You may find this quite strange, but I turn t-shirts and sweatshirts inside out before washing to reduce fading. I’d love it, however, if you’d have your dryer send mine a memo to remember to do the flip in reverse. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I do not like things turned inside out as I have to change them back before putting them in the wardobe again. I am afraid I have no dryer and therefore I have to blame my children…… and they know… ๐Ÿ™‚ Never mind….

Leave a Reply

