My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 10 … Correcting Body Chemistry … The Solution!

fruit smoothieI recently became aware of a naturopathic doctor in Florida, Dr Robert Morse ND, who has a different way of looking at disease. In fact, he doesn’t even think of it in terms of disease. He looks at it very simply, from the perspective of body chemistry.

Here’s the lowdown according to Dr. Morse:

  • The body is made up of four things … cells, two fluids and bacteria
  • The two fluids [which make up 75% of the body] are … blood (which feeds the cells) and lymph (which cleans the cells … lymph makes up 75% of the fluids)
  • The bacteria are mostly in our gastrointestinal (GI) tract and their job is to break down the foods we eat
  • There are two sides to body chemistry, acid and base (alkalinity), as measured by the pH scale which runs from 0 to 14 (water has a neutral pH of 7.0)
  • The body becomes sick when it is in an acid state (when the pH is less than 7.0) and when the lymph system becomes clogged (when it is no longer able to clean the cells)
  • The body becomes sick when the cells become inflamed (because the lymph is no longer cleaning them).
  • The body also becomes sick when we develop leaky gut (when the bacteria in our GI tract and the mucousal lining of our GI tract are destroyed). Note: 80% of our immune system (Immunoglobulin A) is found in the mucousal lining of the GI tract.

So, what is it that causes the body to become acidic, the lymph system to become clogged up and the gut to become leaky? The answer is simple:

  1. A poor diet (especially, dairy, processed foods, excessive protein and junk food)
  2. Chronic stress (worry, anger, watching/reading the news, watching violent movies, etc)
  3. Unresolved emotional pain (causes stress)
  4. Trauma to the body
  5. Lack of exercise
  6. Lack of rest

This video by Dr. Morse describes very simply how the body works and how it becomes sick. I urge you to watch it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhMdDSNVzYY

Dr. Morse’s explanation of body chemistry makes perfect sense to me (I studied physiology, biology and biochemistry in school … and thankfully I paid attention) and it has given me new hope and a modified approach to healing Parkinson’s. In fact, I no longer think of it as healing the gut and healing Parkinson’s. I look at it from the perspective of correcting my body chemistry. I’m no longer focused on restoring the dopamine levels in my brain. Rather, I’m focused on alkalining my body, unclogging my lymph system and healing my gut, so that I’m not absorbing toxic foods through my intestinal wall, and so that my body cells can excrete the toxic wastes that are produced during normal cell metabolism. In other words, create an environment that allows the body to heal itself.

Morse recommends a raw fruit diet as the best way to detox and alkaline, however, my diet during this detoxification process is essentially vegan. That is, fruits and vegetables, as well as, quinoa, buckwheat, coconut oil and nuts and seeds. As Morse explains, we don’t need to eat protein (meat). Our bodies don’t metabolize protein, they make protein out of amino acids, which can be found in fruits and veggies.

My daily diet looks like this:

  1. Glass of fresh lemon water with apple cider vinegar (lemons might be the best detoxifier and alkaliner on the planet)
  2. Melon … whole or blended (melons, especially watermelon are great detoxifiers and are best eaten on their own)
  3. Fruit smoothie or cocktail … 1 or 2 bananas, 1 apple or pear, cup of grapes, handful of goji berries and sprinkle of cinnamon (cinnamon helps stabilize blood sugar)
  4. Veggie dinner … broccoli, celery, tomato, asparagus, carrots, spinach, avocado and sauerkraut in various combinations
  5. Bowl of quinoa or buckwheat with honey and walnuts and sunflower seeds
  6. Fruit cocktail or veggie smoothie (see ingredients above) or bowl of quinoa/buckwheat and honey
  7. 2 – 4 spoonfuls of coconut oil over the course of the day
  8. 2 – 3 more glasses of fresh lemon water between meals

I have believed all along that I could overcome Parkinson’s (because I believe the body, given the right tools, has the ability to heal itself) and now I am more confident than ever! I changed my diet two years ago and got really serious about it last year. But clearly I wasn’t doing enough to alkaline my body, nor did I understand the need to detoxify my lymph system. With this new understanding it’s onward and upward!

Have an awesomely smooth day!

21 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 10 … Correcting Body Chemistry … The Solution!

  1. Fred, I want to wish you all the best with your resolve to continue your healing! I too believe you are on the right path – your Dr Morse speaks the truth and I hope many other people hear his words also! I just want to support this post, I have changed my life so radically by recognising that some foods heal me and others weaken me – the choice then becomes a no-brainer really… 🙂 Onward and upward!!

  2. That sounds amazing Fred! This doctors’ believes and methods sound just like what we should all be doing. I worked a few summers for a pool company and learned about the chemistry of water so I think this makes perfect sense. Having the chemistry off is only inviting all kinds of dangerous things into the system. And we all know where that can lead if not dealt with.
    Thank you for keeping me entertained with your blogs. They are informative, educational and humourous.

  3. Very interesting indeed. I also believe a lot of pains and aches we have comes form not eating the right things and stress. Treating our body correctly is essential. I love your attitude and your methode to conquer Parkinsons.
    Keep this up and be well! Go for it!

  4. I’m a strong believer in your theory and built up experience myself, by changing my food into vegetarian meals, in fact it looks a lot like you mentioned 🙂
    Kundalini yoga has made special exercises to help with Parkinson’s too, but maybe you already knew this. I wish you all the best with your healing. You have the right spirit to overcome this disease 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your support. I really appreciate it! I’m thrilled and encouraged that your diet is working for you 🙂 And yes, I find the combination of martial arts, yoga and walking very beneficial. Cheers!

  5. Fred, i have felt in my gut (no pun intended), that before i started carba levadopa and all the other drugs for PD, that i should first get my body in the best shape possible inside and out. I sought out Dr. John Abdoe, here in San Antonio who put me on a regimen to clean up my gut including hydrochloric acid. I also get ayervedic massages, etc. Much to my neurologist and support groups dismay and concern. Im on my third month with little success. I wont give up in seeking an alternativ to drugs. You have given me hope that i’m not alone. Thank you.

    • Thank you Sheila. I focused primarily on gut health for two years without making progress. Now that I’ve learned about the role of the lymphatic system in the development of disease and the need to detox the lymph, as well as a reminder to alkaline the body, I feel very confident that PD can be overcome. I wish you Godspeed on your journey. Please stay in touch. Cheers … Fred

  6. I recently started a vegan diet to begin healing the autoimmune problems i have encountered. I have neurological problems(numbness in my feet) and Colitis which is an inflammation problem. I had a severe concussion as a young child and I suspect some problems have arised from that. I have also been detoxing for about 8 months now. I am using bentonite clay, which I have researched. I found an amazing site called Unique Healing by Donna Pessin. She developed her own program to heal herself over 20 years ago from debilitating illnesses which western medicine could not help. It is based on detoxing, alkanizing and healing the gut. This would be very helpful to check out. My last blood workup was amazing, the best in over 20 years. I am excited about healing my body. I just turned 60 last month and am looking forward to many more years. God bless..Darrell

    • Hello Darrell … Thank you for sharing your story and your healing journey. It sounds like Donna Pessin’s healing strategy is very similar to my own, which is extremely encouraging. Thank you for putting me on to her.

      Best wishes on your journey and thank you again for sharing.

      Cheers,
      Fred

  7. Do any of you here make your own sauerkraut or take any specific probiotic to keep the gut in line?

    Also Fred this answers my questions about the meat, fish, eggs, etc. Do you still do the fish oil? or use coconut oil alone?

    Thank you!

      • Thank you Fred; and how do you answer all the people who question the “saturated fat” in coconut oil and are pro Fish or Flax only?

        P.S. Do you have an easy sauerkraut recipe?

      • Hi Lori. When it comes to fats, opinions and recommendations, are as varied as can be imagined. Wherein lies the truth is anybody’s guess. I’m certainly no expert, so I kind of go with my gut feel. There are many who feel that animal fats are the best and many others who feel that vegetable fats are superior. For me, a combination is ideal. I do avoid trans fats. The article below provides a good explanation.

        Sauerkraut is actually very easy to make and there are lots of good videos on youtube. I begin by removing the two outer leaves of the cabbage, cut it in half, then chop it up [shred it] as finely as possible, removing the core at the end, and put the shredded cabbage in a bowl. Next I add salt and some cayenne pepper, then hand mix it, squeezing the heck out of the cabbage until juice begins to appear in the bottom of the bowl. Next, I stuff the cabbage into a jar and press it down as tightly as possible. Fill the jar approximately ¾ full. Then put something heavy on top of the cabbage to keep it pressed down [I use a glass of water]. Then cover the jar with a cloth and let sit for 4 to 5 days. That should do it!

        http://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/the-truth-about-fats-bad-and-good

      • Thank you Fred and yes I agree opinions are varied on the fats. When it comes to MS – Dr. Wahl’s said to use coconut oil; but then Dr George Jelinek said emphatically “No” to coconut oil stating too high in saturated fats – pick fish oil or flax oil for Omega 3’s. Both are physicians who have reversed their M.S. so who knows 🙂

        Thank you for the recipe above – that one is easy. I saw this one too but it costs money for the German Crock so you don’t get the mold on top. Really nice what it can do but not in my budget right now. I am going to give yours a try! Thanks again!

        https://feedyourskull.com/2012/07/11/how-to-make-raw-fermented-sauerkraut/

Leave a Reply

