Three More Reasons Why I Teach Karate

karate mr miyagiI have said this many times before and I will likely say it many times more, “I love teaching karate.” I jokingly tell the students that I love it so much because I get to make them do push-ups, but I think they see through my ruse!

The truth is I get enormous gratification from my job (did I say job, cause it sure doesn’t feel like a job!) mostly in the form of smiling faces, skills learned and positive feedback from parents.

More often than not though, special moments come along that strengthen my love of what I do. Moments that give me ample reason to put on my gi and head to the dojo. Recently, I have been given three awesome reasons!

Reason #1 came from a six year old boy when he said, “Karate makes my life better!” How do you top that? I get emotional every time I think about it!

Reason #2 came from an older student. Recently, after the senior class, I asked for volunteers to take the sparring gear out to my truck. As we were packing up the gear, one of the students said, “At school, the teachers can’t get anyone to volunteer for anything, but here at karate, we fight over the right to volunteer!” When you get such a vote of confidence from a teenager, you know you’re on the right track!

Reason #3 came from a student who has been with the club for almost 12 years. One night when he was nine or ten years old, he said in front of the rest of the class, “I hate karate.” (He is the only student ever to do this.) I said, “Why do you come?” He said, “Because my parents make me.” Last week, this same student (who is now a young man) achieved his Black Belt … and he loves karate. You just never know how things are going to turn out, but positive, loving parental support goes a long way towards helping it turn out well.

Three awesome reasons for doing what I do!

Have an awesomely purposeful day!

6 comments on “Three More Reasons Why I Teach Karate

  1. As a teacher you get lovely rewards I see, and it certainly makes it all worth it. I did Karate for some years , I made it to the green belt I say proudly. After that exam my sensei sparred with me and I nearly died, well felt like it. It was too fast and I couldn’t catch my breath. I wasn’t as young as all the other pupils. That is when I stopped and started Tap dancing! 🙂
    I have to say though Karate did wonders for me and I did enjoy it. It gave me so much confidence and my friend who went all the way to the black belt said she could see the difference in me. It was enjoyable and I am happpy I did it.
    Great to hear you love it so much…. and I do think it is fun for you to make them do push ups…… hehe

Leave a Reply

