My Favorite Vocal Performances

freddieI’m a music and movie junkie and I love creating lists of favorites, be it favorite movie, song, acting performance or whatever. Because Christmas is fast approaching, I thought I’d blog my favorite vocal performances, for reasons which will become apparent shortly (at least as it relates to why I’m doing this at this time of the year).

First on the list…Chrissie Hynde of the Pretenders. I saw her in Toronto a few years ago when she opened for The Who. During one song, she blew me away when she hit a note and held it for at least 30 seconds. It was awesome. Sadly, I don’t recall the song, although I like to think it was on I’ll Stand By You, my favorite Chrissie Hynde song.

Next on the list…David Crosby of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young. Despite his struggles with drug addiction, I just love his voice, particularly on Almost Cut My Hair, a classic from the psychedelic era.

Next up, my vote for the most unheralded voice in rock ‘n roll. It belongs to Brad Delps from Boston, and sadly, I didn’t realize just how tremendous his voice was until two years after he left us. He really shows his vocal talents on Boston’s best song, More Than A Feeling.

Bono, from U2 has a terrific voice, of that there is no doubt, but his ability to pull of Pavarotti’s piece on Miss Sarajevo, which I got to see live, was truly awesome.

Alberta, Canada, born KD Lang has one of the best voices on the planet and her performance on Leonard Cohen’s Hallelujah is absolutely stunning.

Tommy Shaw from Styx is not a big man, but he has a huge voice. He hits a note near the end of my favorite Styx song, Crystal Ball, the blows my socks off every time I hear it.

My two favorite singers are Freddie Mercury and Karen Carpenter, and trying to choose their best vocal performance is like trying to pick Elton John’s best piano piece. There’s just so many of them. But you can’t top Freddie on Bohemian Rhapsody, particularly his performance at Wembley Stadium, and nothing sounds sweeter than Karen Carpenter on Superstar.

Darlene LoveLast, but certainly not least, is my absolute favorite vocal performance. It’s by Darlene Love on Christmas, Baby Please Come Home on David Letterman in 2005. It gives me shivers.

So now you know why I’m posting this blog at Christmas!

Have an awesomely festive day!

4 comments on “My Favorite Vocal Performances

  1. Hello. Thank you for this music list.
    It is Australia Day here and so a holiday and I took some time out and played them all. A great list. I especially liked KD Lang’s version of Hallelejah and Stand By Me. I like the Miss Sarejevo version with Pavorotti himself but this one was awesome as well.
    Thanks for sharing your list. what a great idea!

    • Thanks for stopping by Elizabeth. Thrilled that you enjoyed my list. What I love about lists like this is that although they are personal, it’s exciting when someone else shares your favourites. Have an awesome Australia Day!

Leave a Reply

