Inspirational People

From time to time, people come along in our lives who really inspire us. This notion was captured very poignantly in the movie, As Good As It Gets, when Jack Nicholson said to Helen Hunt ‘you make me want to be a better man.’  They motivate us to be better people.

They may be family, friends, significant others, teachers, public figures or people we simply hear about. For example, I am inspired by an American man, Harold Stilson, who in 2001 made a hole-in-one playing golf … at the age of 101. How awesome is that? He inspired me to look after myself so that I can not only live that long, but still be active when I get there.

I am also inspired by a friend’s father who was caught in bed with a woman. He was discovered by the nursing home staff where he was living. He was 95! The reason I am inspired, I believe, is self explanatory!

My children inspire me. They make me want to be a better father and I receive inspiration from watching them enjoy their accomplishments and overcome their challenges.

I am very much inspired by my brother. Brian has down’s syndrome and he is the epitome of unconditional love. No matter how many times you hide his dessert, he always gives you a hug … right after he lovingly slaps you up the back of your head!

People who overcome adversity or who rise up from poverty or destitution inspire me. Arnel Pineda, who was at one time living homeless in his native Philippines, before becoming the lead singer for the rock band, Journey,  is a good example of this.

Victor Frankl inspires me for a similar reason. He survived WWII death camps. What kept him going when so many others around him were dying was his unfailing belief that there had to be meaning in his experience, and he spent the rest of his life teaching this concept. Pineda and Frankl are living proof of the adage, anything is possible.

As an author, I am inspired by James Redfield and J.K. Rowling. Redfield self-published his first book, The Celestine Prophecy, in 1991, and it has gone on to sell over 20 million copies. J.K. Rowling was living on social assistance when she wrote the first Harry Potter novel.

I am most inspired by people who make an effort to make the world a better place. Mother Teresa, John Lennon and Bob Geldof certainly come to mind when I think of people who have provided great inspiration for both me and the masses.

More recently, I have been inspired by Nelson Mandela, particularly after reading his autobiography, Long Walk to Freedom. Mandela spent 27 years in prison fighting for freedom for Blacks in South Africa.  What is most inspiring were his efforts to create reconciliation between Blacks and Whites after becoming President.

Who inspires you?

Have an awesomely inspirational day!

Leave a Reply

