My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 2 … Diet Changes and Grounding

If you read my previous blog on this subject, you will know that I was diagnosed with Parkinson’s a few years ago and last fall I embarked on a natural treatment program to heal the condition mainly by purifying my diet in order to strengthen my immune system and in turn, restore the dopamine and other neurotransmitter levels in my brain. If you want to read my full story, click here.

I recently made some more changes to my healing program.

First, I altered my diet by reducing the amount of carbs I’m eating and increasing the amount of fat. Of course, the type of fats I’m referring to are the healthy saturated fats and omega-3s, not unsaturated trans fats and omega-6s. This means more eggs, organic meat, wild fish, avocado, coconut & olive oil and nuts & seeds. It also means less rice, which is where I was getting a lot of my carbs.

Energetically speaking, my sense is that fat is a more calming food, which I think is particularly important in healing neurological disorders, especially, considering the brain is mostly comprised of fat.

Second, I’m going to be doing a lot of grounding… walking in bare feet or sitting with my bare feet on the ground … having recently read about the healing potential of this rather natural activity.

When your bare feet are in direct contact with the ground, free electrons from the earth transfer into your body via the soles of your feet. These free electrons are incredibly powerful antioxidants. Studies have shown that free electrons from the earth cause beneficial changes in heart rate, decrease inflammation, reduce pain, promotes healthy sleep, and thin your blood.

Parkinson’s, like all diseases has an inflammatory element. In this case, the key inflammation to address is in the brain. This is actually quite comforting to me, because it suggests that I must have a brain … a question I was constantly asked growing up!

The idea that grounding has health benefits makes perfect sense to me because last summer, I noticed that my arms didn’t tremble when I was on, in or near water. I believe the Earth, being an energetic being, has tremendous healing potential and so being in direct contact with it’s basic elements must be beneficial. It’s also worth noting that in her book, Why Suffer, Ann Wigmore, founder of the Hippocrates Health Institute, recalls how her grandmother would treat patients by having them lie on the ground for hours at a time.

Grounding also lets me feel like a kid!

As an aside, I discovered a couple of years ago that my arms don’t tremble when I’m laying on my back. This was a marvellous discovery for me, because now I can lie around without feeling guilty.

So, now my meditation, exercise & healing program looks like this:

  • Meditation…5 – 20 mins each morning
  • Walk…for one hour, 5 – 6 times per week
  • Grounding…every day for as much time as possible
  • Chin ups, push ups & high intensity exercises…1 – 3 times a aweek
  • Hot yoga…periodically
  • Stretches…4 – 5 times a week
  • Martial arts…various exercises while teaching, 4 nights a week
  • Emotional healing…daily
  • Body Stress Relief…once a month

And my average daily diet looks like this:

  • Breakfast…protein drink (raw eggs, spinach/kale, walnuts, pepitas, brazil nuts, olive oil, coconut oil, cinnamon, hemp or brown rice protein powder, rice milk & water) as well as 3 cooked eggs with some veggies and fish.
  • Dinner…organic meat, brown rice or potatoes or sweet potatoes, steamed or lightly cooked veggies and protein drink.
  • After karate meal…cucumber with hummus, or stew or soup, protein drink
  • Snacks…nuts & seeds, a mixture of sunflower butter, nuts & seeds & raw honey…it’s awesome.

I do a lot of stews and I use a lot of cloves and turmeric in them. Both spices have plenty of health benefits. Stews easy to prepare and I can do 3 or 4 meals in advance. Because I teach in the evenings, I typically have a late breakfast and early dinner, so I eat something light when I get home from karate.

The Parkinson’s symptoms I experience are as follows:

  • Trembling…in my left arm & hand and right wrist
  • Imbalance…standing, sitting and walking. People must think I’m drunk all the time!
  • Loss of strength, mobility, dexterity and coordination in my left arm, hand and fingers … makes guitar playing a challenge.
I anticipate the healing process to go like this:
  • Step 1: heal the gastrointestinal tract
  • Step 2: strengthen the immune system
  • Step 3: correct the neurotransmitter imbalance
  • Step 4: eliminate the symptoms

As I become aware of different healing strategies… whether specific to Parkinson’s or not … and health conditions that are implicated in the development of the disease, I will incorporate them into my program and report on my progress.

Have an awesomely healthy day!

8 comments on “My Journey with Parkinson’s … A Natural Approach: Post 2 … Diet Changes and Grounding

  1. hey fellow Parkie, heard about grounding from an 80 year old ex fighter pilot, may give it a try…

    have you tried Mucuna Pruriens? (marty from the dopamine chronicles)

    • Hi Marty…thanks for stopping by and also for letting me know about Mucuna Pruriens. Hadn’t heard of it, but checked it out on Wikipedia. I’d like to try it. Have you used it, and if so, what results did you get? Cheers.

  2. I am interested in knowing if the grounding helped in any way. My mother has Parkinson’s and I am looking for natural ways of helping her.

    • Hi Santhy … I don’t know at this point if it has helped in the healing process. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to do much grounding since last fall because of winter and a rather cold spring. I think it’s well worth doing though because it seems that I experience better balance and less trembling when my bare feet are on the ground and especially when I’m around water.

      Cheers,
      Fred.

      • Thanks Fred. My mother is wheelchair bound, and I’m thinking of getting an earthing mat for her. Would you know anything about it?

      • I’ve never used an earthing mat, but I would say it’s better than nothing at all. I think natural is best, so if you can’t get your mother outside, you might want to consider a felted wool mat. I just started using one although it’s too soon yet to know the benefits.

        I hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

