This Is Why I Teach Karate

I love teaching karate. It brings me enormous joy and satisfaction and I am tremendously grateful every night for every student who chooses to attend karate class.

I receive constant feedback from students and parents about how much they enjoy karate and how much they appreciate my instruction. What could be better?

What I enjoy most, I think, is the opportunity to affect people’s lives in a positive way, by helping students master techniques, while developing confidence, respect and a healthy self image. It gives me an enormous sense of satisfaction.

Every once in a while though a parent will tell me about something that happened with their child that blows me away and really reaffirms my love of teaching. The following is one such story:

From Laura…Sam’s mother:

Thought you’d get a kick out this…Sam and Jaden are practically family, and on the weekend they were “playing” and Jaden hurt Sam. Sam retaliated and hit Jaden on the head trying to get back at him. After some time out with me, Sam went over to Jaden and apologized. I watched them from a distance and saw Sam say sorry. Jaden said that it was ok, then they both did the peace over war hand gesture and bowed to each other! (something they learned at karate) Pretty darn cute!!! Made me smile! I love Karate!!!!  Laura

And I love karate too. Especially teaching it!

What makes this story so special is that Sam and Jaden are only 4 & 5 years old, respectively.  Now how wonderful is that?

I have said many times that I have the best job in the world. I am incredibly grateful that I get paid to do what I love.  Speaking which, a student asked me recently if I would rather work at a job that I didn’t enjoy, but paid me lots of money, or work at a job I love and make a lot less money. I told him that given that I had already experienced both scenarios, the answer was easy. I would so much rather work at a job I love, even if it meant making a lot less money, because you can always adjust your lifestyle. As long as you spend less money than you make, you will always get ahead.

I feel very blessed and my wish would be that everyone someday gets to feel the way I do.  It’s awesome!!!

Have an awesome day!!

Leave a Reply

