More Lessons From The Ticket Saga

In my last blog, I told you about the ticket I received for talking on my cellphone, even though I wasn’t in fact doing any such thing. I also told you about the valuable lesson I was reminded of from this experience as it relates to empowering ourselves by being in charge of our attitude.

It seems that there was more to the lesson.

Let me first tell you that I chose to pay the fine, mostly for practical reasons. To fight the ticket, was going to require two trips to Toronto at a cost of roughly $80 for gas and parking, not to mention 10 to 12 hours of my time, which can be better spent doing things I enjoy. What is more, the ticket carries no demerit points, so my insurance won’t be affected.

The additional lesson I learned came as a result of my follow up comments, both on facebook and in relating the story to friends and family.

As my dear friend Polly pointed out to me, there was a lot of anger, blaming and finger pointing in my comments, all totally contrary to my beliefs (that we are spiritual beings doing the best that we can with what we’ve learned), what I cherish so much in my life (peace of mind) and what I teach (the importance of feeling good about yourself).

Whether or not the officer who gave me the ticket was being genuine is irrelevant. As is the fact that he had no interest in my side of the story. What is relevant is how I reacted.

As I’ve said many times before, you don’t end darkness with more darkness. You end it with light. And you don’t end inappropriate behaviour with more of the same. The comments I made on facebook and the tale of woe I told many people simply fed my pain body…as Eckhart Tolle describes it…while adding more darkness.

There are lots of things that are happening on this planet that really upset me, but focusing on them won’t change anything.

We will only change what is happening when we change our thoughts and behaviours; when we stop blaming and accusing and start understanding; when we stop persecuting and punishing and start being compassionate; when we stop hating and start loving; and when we stop living in fear and start living in trust.

So this ticket experience wasn’t simply a random, mistaken traffic violation, perpetrated on a poor unsuspecting citizen. It was an experience of higher purpose intended to assist a divine spiritual being on his transformational journey…and that’s a more interesting story to tell.

I believe that when we have an objective in life, particularly a spiritual objective…for example to have peace of mind…the universe will send us experiences to help us gauge our progress. Clearly, I have a ways to go, but as I also like to say, Rome wasn’t built it a day. Patience my boy, patience. We have lifetimes of collective conditioning to overcome.

Until next time, have an awesome day!

Leave a Reply

